1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Installing memory

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by guitarist968, Sep 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. guitarist968

    guitarist968 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Hi everyone.

    I wanted to install more memory to one of my older computers, because the memory is only 128mb.

    I have installed PCI cards in the past, and I am not a total newbie to computers.

    My question is: How hard is it to install memory? Could someone tell me how to do it or where I can find instruction on how?

    And if I already have 128mb memory and I add more memory, will I have to remove the 128 or do I add on to it? (Like if I buy 128 I will have 256)
     
  2. phats

    phats

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    couple of things you have to check first, what speed is your current ram, pc2100 etc. and do you have an empty ram slot.
     
  3. guitarist968

    guitarist968 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    could you tell me how to do that?
     
  4. stod73

    stod73

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    All of your questions are dependent on what type of motherboard you have. Hopefully you have a manual with this info but if you do not send us the make, model and year of the pc and maybe we can figure it out. Last option would be for you to open the case and look for markings that indicate the type.
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,848
    First Name:
    Rob
    The installation is very easy, but be careful of static electricity - ground yourself on the case before touching any RAM.

    The hard part is getting the right RAM. What motherboard, CPU and RAM do you have? Do you have a free slot?

    Here's a program to help with all that: http://www.aida32.hu/aida-download.php?bit=32
     
  6. guitarist968

    guitarist968 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    The computer is:

    Athlon, 850mhz
    128mb SDRAM

    I could not get the Motherboard name with Aida32, because it said Unknown. The motherboard chipset is AMD-750 Irongate.

    I do not know how to check the motherboard name and if there is a free slot for memory. How do I do it?
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,848
    First Name:
    Rob
    Check Computer -> DMI for Memory Controllers and Memory Modules to see what it supports for Max. and number of slots.

    As for PC100 or PC133, open up the case and read the Info off the RAM.
     
  8. guitarist968

    guitarist968 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    whenever i open DMI, it is just grey and nothing appears.
     
  9. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,848
    First Name:
    Rob
    Then open up the case and read the info off the RAM and count the number of used/free slots. Also look for Name/Model on the motherboard. Is the computer a brand name by chance like HP?
     
  10. guitarist968

    guitarist968 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    yeah its a Hewlett Packard.
     
  11. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    If its sdram , just buy the pc 133 and you will not have any troubles. You can also use this to get the specifics first.
     
  12. stod73

    stod73

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
  13. stod73

    stod73

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    btw~
    How di dyou become a senior member without knowing how to install memory???
     
  14. guitarist968

    guitarist968 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    because I have made a lot of posts in other parts of the forums.

    i just don't know much about hardware...
     
  15. guitarist968

    guitarist968 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    it is a HP Pavillion 8770c. I dont know when it was made though...
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/168594

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice