Installing memory

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

guitarist968

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
242
Hi everyone.

I wanted to install more memory to one of my older computers, because the memory is only 128mb.

I have installed PCI cards in the past, and I am not a total newbie to computers.

My question is: How hard is it to install memory? Could someone tell me how to do it or where I can find instruction on how?

And if I already have 128mb memory and I add more memory, will I have to remove the 128 or do I add on to it? (Like if I buy 128 I will have 256)
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
1
couple of things you have to check first, what speed is your current ram, pc2100 etc. and do you have an empty ram slot.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2003
Messages
832
All of your questions are dependent on what type of motherboard you have. Hopefully you have a manual with this info but if you do not send us the make, model and year of the pc and maybe we can figure it out. Last option would be for you to open the case and look for markings that indicate the type.
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
The installation is very easy, but be careful of static electricity - ground yourself on the case before touching any RAM.

The hard part is getting the right RAM. What motherboard, CPU and RAM do you have? Do you have a free slot?

Here's a program to help with all that: http://www.aida32.hu/aida-download.php?bit=32
 

guitarist968

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
242
The computer is:

Athlon, 850mhz
128mb SDRAM

I could not get the Motherboard name with Aida32, because it said Unknown. The motherboard chipset is AMD-750 Irongate.

I do not know how to check the motherboard name and if there is a free slot for memory. How do I do it?
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
Check Computer -> DMI for Memory Controllers and Memory Modules to see what it supports for Max. and number of slots.

As for PC100 or PC133, open up the case and read the Info off the RAM.
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
Then open up the case and read the info off the RAM and count the number of used/free slots. Also look for Name/Model on the motherboard. Is the computer a brand name by chance like HP?
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
If its sdram , just buy the pc 133 and you will not have any troubles. You can also use this to get the specifics first.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2003
Messages
832
btw~
How di dyou become a senior member without knowing how to install memory???
 

guitarist968

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
242
because I have made a lot of posts in other parts of the forums.

i just don't know much about hardware...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top