installing new hardrive.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rstanley

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2001
Messages
272
when I installed my new 40 gig harddrive it doesnt want to load past the compaq logo, but without it, it runs fine. What do you think could be the problem. Is it the pc it self or could it be the harddrive? By the way, thanks for all the help you have all given me in the past.:D
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Is it installed as the primary drive or did you install it as a slave to your current drive? Sounds like it's not set up correctly in the BIOS.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Or you don't have it jumpered correctly if you are going to be using two drives.
 

rstanley

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2001
Messages
272
I was just planning on useing a single drive, how would I go about useing 2. Also whats this about the bios. How do I set it up in the bios.


thanks for all the help!!!!!!!!!
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
So, now I'm confused. You say without the new hard drive, everything is ok, so I'm assuming that you've left the old drive in.

If you've disconnected it and are trying to boot with the new hard drive, without an operating system on it, it's not going to happen....you need to boot with a windows bootable floppy so that you can format the new hard drive.....

And Compaq puts a partition on their drives that allow you access to the bios setup, so I think you have to get that on the new drive as well if you will only be using it.

So, I guess, we need to know what your final plans are going to be.
 

rstanley

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2001
Messages
272
Sorry to confuse you, i should of explained it better. Heres what i've been doing. I took the old HD out and put the new one in but it wouldnt start it just stays on the compaq logo, it doesnt even go to Dos. So what I did was leave the cover off and just left the new HD inside. Then I disconected the wires and p7(power supply7) and I conected it to the old HD, which is outside of the case)

By the way, is there a way I could create a bootdisk in windows on my HD or not?


I just bought Xp but I only have the expansion.

Also, will my sony vaio system recovery disk work as a boot disk on my compaq?

Thanks for the help and happy new years!!

:)
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Go here and download a bootdisk:

http://freepctech.com/pc/002/files010.shtml

Save it to your desktop, double click on it, you'll be prompted for a blank floppy disk.......files will be transferred......

Now try booting to the new hard drive with that floppy in the drive.

By the way, did the new hard drive come with a setup floppy disk? If so, have you tried that?

No, the recovery disk isn't going to work in anything other than the computer it was prepared for.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
to create a boot disk go to start/settings/control panel/add remove programs, startup disk tab, put a floppy in the drive and create one.

As far as the new harddrive, it won't work until its formatted at a minimum.

You need to boot up with the start up disk, once at the a prompt either type format C: (if you only have the new drive attached, recommended to eliminate formatting the wrong drive) or if you plan on partitioning the drive you will need to use fdisk, see the following article
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q255867

Also if you plan on using both drives you would need to enter setup and enable the ide channel you have the extra drive setup on either primary slave, secondary master or slave, depending on where you put it.
 

rstanley

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2001
Messages
272
I just got my harddrive installed, but am haveing trouble with the drivers. One of them is a luscent win modem, and3dfx voodoo. I believe thats their names. Is there a way I could download the drivers, and transfer them to the other pc. Oh, and by the way, how do I go about transfering data from one harddrive to the other. If i could do that then I would have no need to reinstall the drivers. Also should I remove 3dfx and install an ati radeon.


thanks for the help and happy new years!!!!!!!!:) :) :) :)
 

rstanley

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2001
Messages
272
I desided not to install the hardrive on my compaq, instead I installed on a pc i had built a couple years ago. Its faster than my compaq and has DVD rom. When I got it I never recieved any system recovery disk, OS for that matter. Shouldnt the drivers be listed on either the Xp or 98's disc.

Theirs no way I could download the drivers?


Thanks for all the help, I really appreciate it!!!!!

HAPPY NEW YEARS
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
Sorry, little confused, is the problem solved or do you still need drivers, and if so , which ones. I know the voodoo drivers are still around for download, not sure about the modem
 

rstanley

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2001
Messages
272
yes, I still need drivers.

Does this help any?
Microsoft Windows 98 4.10.2222 A
Clean install using Full OEM CD /T:C:\WININST0.400 /SrcDir=D:\WIN98 /IZ /IS /IQ /IT /II /NR /II /C /U:xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
IE 5 5.00.2614.3500
Uptime: 0:03:28:27
Normal mode


GenuineIntel Pentium(r) II Processor
128MB RAM
79% system resources free
Windows-managed swap file on drive C (9121MB free)
Available space on drive C: 9121MB of 9756MB (FAT32)
Available space on drive D: 3072MB of 4869MB (FAT32)



lucent win modem is what I have I believe.

Thanks for all the help!!!!!!!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top