Solved Installing new mobo, vga and boot lights on

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

D20

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2021
Messages
3
Hi there,
I originally built my pc in mid 2017. Recently, I had to replace the motherboard as it died, for no apparent reasoning.
I installed a new board, checked that the parts would work together in advance, seemed fine.
I've got everything put back together, and my vga and boot lights are on.

I've tried different plugs on the same wire set, different ssd ports on the board, etc.

20210110_164525.jpg

I have no idea why it's not working, and it's making me insane.

This is my first post, so if I'm doing something improperly, please let me know.
Thanks all!

Edit: request for assistance outside of the forum removed.
Details for parts in following photos:Screenshot_20210111-102929_Amazon Shopping.jpg
 

Attachments

Last edited:

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,882
If someone is kind enough to connect with me for some trouble shooting, or even a video call
No. All help is done in the forum.
Next you are posting in a hardware forum and no one has any idea what hardware you installed. Post ALL of your exact specs; ie exact motherboard, exact processor, exact pw supply, etc, etc. Do not post "500W pw supply" Post the exact brand and model# Do that for ALL of your parts.

Have you read the troubleshooting guide at the top of the forum for problem builds? If not, do so. If you follow ALL of the steps, you will find the cause of your no POST issue.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,882
I do see one thing that jumps out at me; you did not connect the 8 or 12pin aux pw connectors. I circled it in your pic. Some boards that use a 12pin will run with just the 8pin connected. I cannot tell from your pic if you have an 8pin or 12pin on your board.
BTW I would move the connector you did install on the other side of the cooler so it is not resting on the cooler. Move it to the other side of the pw connector for the video card then up to the cpu pw socket on the board.
 

Attachments

D20

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2021
Messages
3
I do see one thing that jumps out at me; you did not connect the 8 or 12pin aux pw connectors. I circled it in your pic. Some boards that use a 12pin will run with just the 8pin connected. I cannot tell from your pic if you have an 8pin or 12pin on your board.
BTW I would move the connector you did install on the other side of the cooler so it is not resting on the cooler. Move it to the other side of the pw connector for the video card then up to the cpu pw socket on the board.
The part you circled is the 8-pin power port, which is what I have plugged there. I did move it over toward the left side so it goes across the front of the gpu instead of the cpu.
 

D20

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2021
Messages
3
No. All help is done in the forum.
Next you are posting in a hardware forum and no one has any idea what hardware you installed. Post ALL of your exact specs; ie exact motherboard, exact processor, exact pw supply, etc, etc. Do not post "500W pw supply" Post the exact brand and model# Do that for ALL of your parts.

Have you read the troubleshooting guide at the top of the forum for problem builds? If not, do so. If you follow ALL of the steps, you will find the cause of your no POST issue.
Parts info added - I'll take a look at the guide you mentioned,and see if they solves my issue.
Never going to work. No 1xxx processors are supported. Here is the support page for your board;
ROG STRIX B550-F GAMING | ROG Strix | Gaming Motherboards|ROG - Republic of Gamers|ROG Global (asus.com)
If you want it to work, you need a processor on the list. Just because they are the same socket does NOT mean all processors are supported.
I just discovered this, haha. I misinterpreted the cpu info/title of my cpu, so unfortunately I need to upgrade. It seems like things should be fine after that, I resolved another minor placement issue that solved half the issue I was having.
Thank you for your help!
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,882
You are welcome. You can mark your own thread as solved using the button at the upper left. No need for this one; I will mark it for you.
 
  • Like
Reactions: D20
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top