1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Installing NT Server 4

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by mknott, Sep 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mknott

    mknott Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    140
    i know its old but its all i can afford unless somone wants to give me server 2k lol.

    before i install it on a dual cpu machine (not a server just a dual cpu pc) is there anything i should be aware of as i have not installed nt server on a dual cpu pc before
     
  2. Miltrez

    Miltrez

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    8

    It should run just fine on a dual processor (make sure to have SP-service pack- 4 ready to load). I have 3 Poweredge 2600 duals here that used to run NT4 SP4 with no hitch. Apps must be written however to take advantage of muti kernel processing. They don't take advantage of it by default.
     
  3. mknott

    mknott Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    140
    unfortunatly i dont have sp4. should i download sp6a before i install nt4server then?

    also the server is going to be a file server and a possiable web host for my website files so its mainly going to be just nt server installed
     
  4. Miltrez

    Miltrez

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    8

    Yes, definitely 6a. Sp4 is the first one (if i remember right) that fixed mutli thread kernel crap outs.

    I am sitting here looking at my file server load now, and the CPU is just dead (this one is a dual processor Xeon, 120 users running shared office suite/profiles/DNS/logons/AD). I think your web based traffic and file sharing will be more performance related to drive speed/access and network connections. Make sure these are beyond god-like and you will be a hero. :D
     
  5. mknott

    mknott Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    140
    The pc im going to run it on is an real old pc... something like a dual 266 pentium, its got under 256mb ram.. could be under 128mb even and the hdd is old lol.

    its going to be running at home so im not to worried about preformance as there will only be 2 users (not including webusers if i setup a website on it)
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Installing Server
  1. howard.a.s
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    653
  2. plankman
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    817
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/276042

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice