1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

installing red hat 9 dual boot - can't boot from cdrom

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by fitzgema, Jan 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fitzgema

    fitzgema Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    I bought a new hard drive to make my Win XP Pro system a dual boot system. I have partitioned the drive and want to install red hat on my empty partition. I have downloaded the 3 iso files from the redhat site and have them on discs. I cannot boot from my cdrom, which is what's giving me the problems. I have also heard you can move one of the boot files to a floppy, however the file is 1.44 MB, which should theoretically work, however my floppys are only allocating me 1.38 MB. I am not super computer savvy, but know some. How can I install???
     
  2. codejockey

    codejockey

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,405
    You will need to copy the RedHat-provided floppy image to a floppy disk, using a utility such as dd or rawrite (this is roughly the equivalent of diskcopy in the DOS world). You can find instructions here: https://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals...-steps-install-cdrom.html#S2-STEPS-MAKE-DISKS

    Are you sure you can't boot from your CD-ROM? You may need to change the boot order in your BIOS setup screens -- definitely worth checking out if you haven't done so already.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. lynch

    lynch

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,961
    I just installed the RH 9 Publisher's Edition for a dual-boot with XP for someone. I could'nt get the CD1 to boot; turns out they were mis-labeled. CD2 booted fine.
    If you put the boot(CD1) CD in XP and browse to the dosutils folder and then open the rawritewin folder and run rawritewin.exe Choose A:\ as the destination and browse to the images folder and choose boot.img. Hit ok to make the installation floppy.
    HTH
    lynch
     
  4. fitzgema

    fitzgema Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Thank you both for your help. My computer has 2 cd drives, but only the burner drive will read burnt discs. However, my computer will only boot from the first drive (as I know of). So that's why the installation via cdrom wouldn't work for me. Rawritewin allowed the creation of a boot floppy disc which allowed me to install. Thanks so much.

    Now I am finding that in order for grub or lilo to run, the partition that it is on has to be at the beginning of my drive, not on the end. So wish me luck with repartitioning!
     
  5. codejockey

    codejockey

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,405
    You're welcome -- and congrats on sorting things out and getting going. If you are installing Lilo/grub on the Linux root partition, you may indeed have a problem if that partition is located near the end of a large-capacity drive. However, if you install Lilo/grub in the master boot record (MBR) you may be able to avoid this problem -- but be aware that if you remove Lilo/grub, you will need to restore your XP boot record.

    Hope this helps.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/199028