1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Installing SP2

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by voip4africa, Sep 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. voip4africa

    voip4africa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Hi everyone,

    I seem to be experiencing a very funny problem when trying to install SP2 onto my Windows XP installation.

    Every time I try to install, everything starts of fine and installation is in progress until the file sp2.cab is being installed, and the error comes up:
    [​IMG]
    (In the past I have successfully installed SP2 from onto this XP installation I have).

    Expecting that the CD I was using may be defective, I downloaded tha fresh copy of the SP2 Installation (WindowsXP-KB835935-SP2-ENU) from the inernet and placed it directly on the hard drive and tried to install it from there - same problem!!!:eek:

    Thinking it may be a problem on my hard drive or my current WinXP installation, I bought a new hard drive, did a fresh installation on WinXP and then tried to install SP2 - same problem!!! :mad:

    The worst part is, that everytime I try to install SP2 and the installation does not complete successfully, my whole Windows XP installation gets corrupt and I have to re-install XP.
     
  2. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Have you done the motherboard drivers before trying SP2?
     
  3. MysticEyes

    MysticEyes Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,825
  4. voip4africa

    voip4africa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    what is this?
     
  5. voip4africa

    voip4africa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    problem is, I don't have any of the new version of disk bruner s/wares - what I have is Nero 5.5
     
  6. fairnooks

    fairnooks Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5,251
    You should be just fine with Nero 5.5, it burns images doesn't it? If you go to RyanVM (http://www.ryanvm.net/msfn/) and get the integrator, might as well go right to SP3 by getting that, copy off your installation disc to the hard drive and let the integrator build the new integrated install for you. Burn the image to disc again and that's it, slipstreamed to SP3.
     
  7. voip4africa

    voip4africa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    so I just forget about SP2?

    Secondly, my WinXP installation on my hard drive is now corrupt because of the attempt I made to install SP2 on it. (So I'll have to do the integration process on another one of my PC's. ) Does this mean that now after the integration process and I make a new CD, all I have to do is use the new CD (which will now have SP3 built-in) to just repair my current installation of WinXP and my hard drive will be up & running with SP3?
     
  8. fairnooks

    fairnooks Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5,251
    You should hopefully be able to use an old restore point to remove any "damage" done by a failed install of SP2.

    All SP2 updates are included in SP3 so I would forget about SP2 but its up to you.

    If a system restore doesn't work, and you try a repair installation, I think you would want to use the original install disc, not the slipstreamed one. I would only use the slipstreamed install disc for a repair install after it had been successfully installed first (and then something subsequent went wrong).
     
  9. voip4africa

    voip4africa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    I don't think I'm getting it right somewhere:
    • I copied the i386 directory of my WinXP CD to my hard disk
    • I copied the SP3 file to my hard disk
    • I Instlled and started the RyanVM Integrator

    Where it says, "browse to the location which contains the i386 directory", I put in the location to which I have copied the i386 directory from my WinXP CD.

    Where do I put in the location for the SP3 file?, 'cos "Choose an Update pack" or "Choose an Addon Pack(s)" do not allow me to source the SP3 file.

    So I clicked on File -> Slipstream Service Pack -> Yes
    and from there I could select the SP3 file
    so it started extracting the files to some long directory name: c:\731db755e673f173752f8d29
    (which disapears after the extracting process)

    Then I chose the Setup.exe from the copy of my WinXP CD and clicked on Integrate, and it started the process. I don';t think I'm on the right track, but here's the log:

    2008-09-22_08.27.31
    Log Startup @ 08:27:31 On September 22, 2008

    Running OS: WIN_XP Service Pack 1 X86
    RVMIntegrator v1.5.3

    "C:\Documents and Settings\MF\Local Settings\Temp\Rar$EX01.078\RVM_Integrator_1.5.3.exe"

    08:28:11 - Windows XP Professional - Corporate Found
    08:34:47 -
    08:34:47 - Source Drive = C:\winxp
    08:34:47 - Destination Drive = C:\winxp
    08:34:47 - Destination Size = 33.57 GB
    08:34:47 - Working Directory = C:\winxp\I386
    08:34:47 - Temp Directory = C:\winxp\I386\rvmtemp
    08:34:47 -
    08:34:47 - Starting Integration
    08:34:47 -
    08:34:47 - Checking Destination For OS Type.
    08:34:47 - Windows XP Professional - Corporate Found
    08:34:48 -
    08:34:48 - Copying SETUP.EXE
    08:34:48 - MD5 Hash = 41B56EC918429FEA2693E71F30A95F78
    08:34:48 - Clearing any Read Only Attributes.
    08:34:55 -
    08:34:55 - Gathering temp files
    08:34:56 - Shifting Stuff Around
    08:34:56 - 2 Files Moved in 0 Seconds
    08:34:56 - Analyzing 0 Entry Files
    08:34:56 -
    08:34:56 - Prepairing System Files...
    08:34:56 - sysoc.inf
    08:34:56 - svcpack.inf
    08:34:56 - dosnet.inf
    08:34:56 - txtsetup.sif
    08:35:00 -
    08:35:00 - Processing Sysoc.inf
    08:35:00 - Processing svcpack.inf
    08:35:00 - Adding Switchless Installers to SVCPACK
    08:35:00 - Processing dosnet.inf
    08:35:00 - Processing txtsetup.sif
    08:35:01 -
    08:35:01 - Compressing Files ASMS...
    08:35:07 -
    08:35:07 -
    08:35:07 - Entire .ini Processing Completed in 11 Seconds
    08:35:07 -
    08:35:07 - Compressing and Moving Edited Files
    08:35:07 - Cleaning Up.
    08:35:07 - Integration Completed.
    08:35:07 - Total Integration Time = 19 Seconds
    08:35:07 - ==================================================================================
    08:35:07 -
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Installing
  1. howard.a.s
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    523
  2. plankman
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    683
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/751993

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice