1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Installing win 98

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Buddy21972, Nov 29, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Buddy21972

    Buddy21972 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2001
    Messages:
    50
    OK, i formatted my c drive to install win 98, and i have the disk but i cant find the cd drive!(i don't know what the label thing is) i've tried everything! Any suggestions?
     
  2. Paul Nagel

    Paul Nagel

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 1999
    Messages:
    1,843
    If you are booting with a Win98 boot disk and your CD-rom was "D:" previously, it will now be "E:" as the boot disk creates a temproary Ram drive as D:.
     
  3. Buddy21972

    Buddy21972 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2001
    Messages:
    50
    ok then how do i get to that in DOS? am i doing it wrong? to change from a to c i type "C:" and it goes there, i tried that with every letter in the alaphabet, and it didn't work, then i tried it with "C:/" with every letter in the alphabet, and it is sayn somthing like no such drive, or invalid.
     
  4. rkselby98

    rkselby98

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    The command would be:


    E:\setup.exe
     
  5. Buddy21972

    Buddy21972 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2001
    Messages:
    50
    ok, i tried that and now it still says "invalid drive specification" any other suggestions?
     
  6. rkselby98

    rkselby98

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    If you set the partition, formatted drive C: and then used the win98 boot disk to boot to. Then when it booted up you should have gotten a message asking if you want to boot or something about using the cd or not using the cd (forgot exacely what it does say) you should have picked the used cd option.

    If you did and it say invalid drive then check the wire connections on the cd, the master/slave settings and if you still can't get it you might have to go into the bios settings and see if it is picking up the cd in the bios.

    Make sure you have all other hard ware unhooked except one cd, one floppy, video card. Unplug or remove the rest and then it should work.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60084

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice