1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Installing Win98 on a Laptop

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by famousGino, Dec 5, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. famousGino

famousGino Thread Starter

Hi,
    I have an Acer laptop which runs Win95. It doesn't work properly at the moment so I decided to install Win 98 SE which I have recently aquired.
    Do I have to get rid of Win 95 first? How do I do it?
    Can someone explain it to me step by step given that I have never done it before and I'm a beginner when it comes to stuff like this.
    Thanks in advance guys.

2. plejon

plejon

Depends on what version of W98 you acquired.

"Upgrade" versions will allow you to upgrade your current W95 machine.

Some "OEM" versions will only allow you to install on a clean formatted drive.

The W98 installation process is similar to W95. The installation will guide you through a series of wizards. You will be asked to select the options you want to install (or you can choose a "typical" install). W98 will attempt to detect the hardware you're using. Some manual intervention might be required here.

Give it a try. You can always start a new thread on this forum if you hit a particular problem

3. famousGino

I want to start it clean. How do I format my drive?

4. Skidood

Skidood

You'll probably be sorry you asked that question...:)
    Get into a DOS screen and at the c prompt, type in: format c:
    You WILL lose everything from the drive, so you better figure out ahead of time how to install W98 from the cdrom.
    You can also tell the bios to boot from a floppy, then insert your w95 startup diskette, and do it from there.You will need a startup diskette to operate the computer so that you can install W98