1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

installing windows for a business

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Wiffers2003, Oct 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Wiffers2003

    Wiffers2003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Does anyone know how to legally install windows on various machines??
    Is there a way I can buy one copy win XP and continuously install it on new machines??

    I'm considering starting up a business from home, and can't see how the major shops can offer such cheap pc's with windows
    already installed.

    thanks for your help!
     
  2. IMM

    IMM Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,257
    Are you talking about buying a bunch of OEM XP disks and and some product keys (one per) from M$ for resale ? - or are you trying to license a certain number of seats at a given location?
     
  3. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    Windows as installed on new machines is OEM (original equipment manufacturer) version. It is cheaper than the full retail version, but the supplier is responsible for all support. OEM Software is only available with a new PC or major component purchase.

    You need a COA (Certificate of Authenticity, or "license") for each copy.

    In Corporate use, they use Volume Licensing. One set of disks, but they pay the same $ for each license.

    If anyone tries to sell PCs with unlicensed copies of Windows, MS acts very quickly.
     
  4. Wiffers2003

    Wiffers2003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    OK thanks for the info.

    So if i understand correctly, as long as i buy an OEM version of win xp (which is cheaper) i can sell that with each machine that i build as it comes with its own licence number.

    Is that correct??!!?
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/171583

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice