1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

installing windows server on linux box

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by Sting3R, Apr 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sting3R

    Sting3R Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    well I have tried everything....I am running an amd duron 1600 chip 60gig hd 340 mb of ram....linux redhat 9.0 os

    after I try installing windows server 2000 it wont boot I get stuck at a black screen with "GRUB"

    I dont know if the boot loader is hanging or what...pwease help!


    thanks
     
  2. utanja

    utanja

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    the boot loader is not seeing the grub.conf file.....unlike lilo.....grub is loaded to the MBR and looks for grub.conf....if it cannot see /etc/grub.conf ....nothing will boot....that is why i like lilo....

    try to boot with the linux rescue disk...you make during the installation... and redoe grub...
    :)
     
  3. tnik

    tnik

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    735
    are you trying to get rid of linux and install win2k server? if so, format, run a 98 bootdisk, type 'fdisk /mbr' (to clean the Master Boot Record) and then install win2k Server.. Hope this helps..
     
  4. Sting3R

    Sting3R Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    no actually im trying to dual boot it....doesnt look as if its going to work....thanks anyways
     
  5. tnik

    tnik

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    735
    sure, it will work.. the easy way to do it would be to install windows first, then linux, for the fact that windows loves to rewrite the MBR on installation.. check out the grub-howto at www.tldp.org, or just do a google search on "grub HOWTO dual boot windows linux" I came up with this link to help ya out.. http://rtfm.dyndns.info/tips/2002/11/13/51.shtml
     
  6. Sting3R

    Sting3R Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    thanks alot
     
  7. saikee

    saikee

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,887
    If you have a bootable grub floppy disk, which can be generated by any Linux that uses Grub, say from another machine, load it up to Grub prompt and type

    configfile (hd0,x)/boot/grub/menu.lst where x=partition number-1 as Grub counts from Zero.

    Your Linux will fire up again.

    If you have Windows as a boot choice and happy with the arrangement you can put the Grub dual bootloader in permanently by typing

    grub-install /dev/hda

    while being as the root user.

    Depending on the distro you have the original CD can also be used for the rescue task. For exampple Red Hat & Fedora has a rescue disk facility built in.

    Another method is to use a Live CD from another distro, get into root, mount your lost Linux there, change root to it (chroot), control your lost Linux directly.

    You should never have to lose the Linux again.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/218257

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice