Installing Windows XP on a SATA HDD

Steve203

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 26, 2015
Messages
7
I'm trying to install Windows XP Pro on an old Viglen Pentium 4 computer (for the sake of some essential hardware and software that will not work on anything later than XP). The problem is that on the first installation reboot it hangs on a "Press any key to boot from CD..." message which is because I am installing to a SATA HDD, and Win XP has no drivers for SATA.

The motherboard is an Intel D915GHA. The BIOS is MSI. It is possible to install drivers separately during the initial part of the installation after pressing the F6 key. The D915GHA pdf says it has a 82801FB ICH6 controller, and I've spent the last four days trying to find AHCI drivers for this. The nearest I can get is 82801FBM which does not seem to work.

The simpler alternative described in instructions in dealing with this issue is to change 'Drive configuration' in the BIOS to somehow disable SATA mode. In 'Advanced > Drive Configuration' I changed the 'ATA/IDE Configuration' from 'Enhanced' to 'Legacy', which I thought might do it, but it didn't. The options shown in online articles on this issue apply to much later BIOS. and do not exist in mine.

The Drive Configuration page shows the HDD on SATA Port 0 and the CD-RW as PATA Master. Changing the settings for the HDD from 'Auto' to 'User' I have options to change 'LBA/Large Mode' (Auto or Disabled), 'Block Mode' (Auto or Disabled), 'PIO Mode' (Auto or 1, 2, 3, 4), DMA Mode (many options), S.M.A.R.T. (Auto/Disabled/Enabled). I haven't tried changing anything here yet.

I looks as though my only option is to install to a PATA drive, but there is only one PATA connector, so it would have to be on the same cable as the DVD-ROM, which is less than desirable.

Can anyone suggest what I should be doing to make this work? The machine originally had XP Pro installed, so it ought to be possible.
 

lochlomonder

Colin
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
3,929
What's required from the hardware side for this project? Virtualisation of XP may be possible but, of course, it's contingent on whether or not the hardware in question is addressable from within the guest OS.
 

Steve203

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 26, 2015
Messages
7
Thanks for the replies. The major hardware issue is an HP Photosmart scanner from the late '90s designed to scan 35mm film, which is one of my hobbies, It has a SCSI interface and works very well. More modern film scanners would no doubt work with later Windows, but are rather expensive.

The copy of Win XP I'm using is a downloaded version supposed to have SP3. I haven't managed to find my original, but that would definitely not have SP3.

It's very frustrating that I seem to be able to find any number of files supposed to support 82801FBM and 82801FR, but have not found one for 82801FB. My best bet would be the BIOS tweak, but I cannot find an option to do it.

It is not that big a deal if I do have to use a PATA drive, because once I have installed XP and MS Access '97 (for a couple of databases I wrote many years ago) I can disconnect the DVD-ROM to avoid slowing the HDD.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,870
This can easily be done however I do see one problem; intel motherboard. Intel stopped ALL support for their boards ie no drivers, no updates, nothing.
There are basically two ways to accomplish this task;
1 In the bios, set the sata mode to ide
2 Other method, integrate the sata drivers into a custom install CD. This requires a higher skill level than the first method
Many, many years ago, I had quite a number of custom xp install CDs; an intel CD, an AMD CD, and even one for my promise raid card. The drivers can be slipstreamed into a custom CD using something like nlite or another slipstreaming tool.

Note if you use method #2, you are going to have to find the driver yourself since there is no support page for your motherboard. You can [probably] use a sata driver for an asus motherboard that has the same chipset ie p35, p45, or whatever.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
121,895
The copy of Win XP I'm using is a downloaded version supposed to have SP3.
Would you please advise where you downloaded it from as I'm not aware of any authorized downloads available for some time. :)
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
84,424
The MSDN site had untouched downloads for Windows XP SP3 and Windows Vista SP2 and Windows 7 SP1 and Windows 8/8.1 and Windows 10 for a long time, but that site is no longer available.

The only Windows XP SP3 downloads out there that I'm aware of are home brew or hacked copies.

-------------------------------------------------
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2020
Messages
1,130
HDD from 'Auto' to 'User' I have options to change 'LBA/Large Mode' (Auto or Disabled), 'Block Mode' (Auto or Disabled), 'PIO Mode' (Auto or 1, 2, 3, 4), DMA Mode (many options), S.M.A.R.T. (Auto/Disabled/Enabled). I haven't tried changing anything here yet.
What are they set to now
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2020
Messages
1,130
If you cannot find Sata drivers the best step is to load windows7 (only7)
And run xp mode. This will give you every access you need.
 

Steve203

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 26, 2015
Messages
7
1 In the bios, set the sata mode to ide
2 Other method, integrate the sata drivers into a custom install CD. This requires a higher skill level than the first method.
There doesn't seem to be any obvious way of setting SATA to IDE in the BIOS. I'd read about using nlite, but need to be pretty sure I have the correct driver first. Thanks for the ASUS tip. Will investigate.

Would you please advise where you downloaded it from as I'm not aware of any authorized downloads available for some time. :)
I'm aware it isn't official, but it seems safe, and I have a couple of genuine Product Keys (one from this actual machine), so I feel fairly legit.

What are they set to now
In Auto the settings are: LBA > Supported; Block Mode > 16 Sectors; PIO Mode > Mode 4; Ultra DMA > Mode 5. SMART doesn't appear.
 

texasbullet

Ramon
Joined
Jun 11, 2014
Messages
3,056
You can swap the HDD or SSD from your computer and install Windows 10 32 bit version on it with all drivers and updates and then you can try installing your film scanner program in it. Make sure you have at least 4 GB of RAM in order for it to install on your computer. If you have more than 4 GB of RAM then the OS won't install. Not sure if it may work with 8 GB or RAM. I have some programs that require the 32 bit version OS and I tried it and it worked for me. Once you finish using the 32 bit version just swap the HDD or SSD and reinstall the RAM's back.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,870
There doesn't seem to be any obvious way of setting SATA to IDE in the BIOS. I'd read about using nlite, but need to be pretty sure I have the correct driver first. Thanks for the ASUS tip. Will investigate.
There is no "Correct" driver; there is no support from intel for any of their motherboards. Using a driver for the same chipset, will probably work however you need to understand that you will have to test and find out IF it will work. No guarantees.
 

Steve203

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 26, 2015
Messages
7
I'm afraid I've really lost all hope of finding a driver. I've been downloading literally dozens of files from Driverguide over the last five days, and as I mentioned before,. I have found plenty for 82801FR and 82801FBM, but absolutely none for 82801FB. A PATA drive must be the way to go. It should do the job provided the motherboard doesn't insist on a SATA for the boot drive.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top