1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

installing XP

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by thymekiller, Apr 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. thymekiller

    thymekiller Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    A friend wants to wipe his hard drive, and install WinXP. He wants to use his brother's copy. Is that possible?? I know it needs to be activated to use it-so what happens if you dont?? And what happens if you do, and it has been used once?? If it wont work, I need to tell him, before he gets started.
    thyme
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,867
    First Name:
    James
    He will need a CD KEY (license) before doing it. And it does not include his brother's. SO legally no, he cannot. Physically yes, and I don't think that activating it will stop the process. But again, legally, NO
     
  3. skinnywhiteboy

    skinnywhiteboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,070
    First Name:
    Bruce
    Or after the activation notification reaches its limit, your OS will just stop working all together.
     
  4. thymekiller

    thymekiller Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    I knew about the legal aspects of it, but I knew he was pretty determined, and i just wondered what would happen. I havent known anyone to try it, so I didnt know what it would do-if it would just quit running or what. Thanks for the input.
    thyme
     
  5. Emtronics

    Emtronics

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,984
    It will stop working, I do it all the time. When building a system, I use XP Pro but don't activate it. I use the system on the bench unless it is sold, then I sell the KEY with the machine and they activate it. If after 30 days, I still have the computer, I format, and re-install XP. ONE License per machine.
     
  6. thymekiller

    thymekiller Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Thanks for the info. I just wondered if it would really just stop working-makes sense to me.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - installing
  1. howard.a.s
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    551
  2. plankman
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    717
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/220062

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice