1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

InstallShield Engine (iKernel.exe) problem

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by kdizzle, May 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kdizzle

    kdizzle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Hi all,

    I recently re-installed Windows 7 on my laptop. My laptop was cluttered and slow, so I opted to just reinstall Windows 7 completely. The past few days I've been downloading programs as I've been needing them, like a chat client here or a game there. Everything has been running faster and it's all be great, until now. Today I tried to download Microsoft Reader, only to get this error:

    [​IMG]

    "The InstallShield Engine (iKernel.exe) could not be launched.

    Class not registered"

    I have no idea what to do. I tried searching for other solutions but they seem to be outdated. Can someone help, please?
     
  2. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,484
    Try to unregister Windows Installer then reregister the Windows Installer.

    Press Windows key + R. Type msiexec /unreg, and then press ENTER.

    Press Windows key + R again. Type msiexec /regserver, and then press ENTER.

    Restart the computer.
     
  3. kdizzle

    kdizzle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    I tried that, Lance, but it didn't work...

    Although now I'm getting a different error:

    [​IMG]

    Instead of "Class not registered," it now says "Interface not registered."
     
  4. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,484
    OK! Go the the Control Panel \ Administrative Tools \ Services. Is the Windows Installer enabled? And what is it set at?
     
  5. kdizzle

    kdizzle Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    The status is blank, and the startup type is manual. Should I enable it? And how do I do that xD
     
  6. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,484
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1054767