Intel 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

matyd

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
182
I have the Intel 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller installed on my computer... If i go and get a better video card... will that interfere with anything? As in cause errors etc.?
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2004
Messages
4,719
We need the make and model of the pc to check, providing you purchase the correct graphics card there's not normally a problem.
 

matyd

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
182
Is this not enough information? :
OS: Windows XP Home SP2
RAM: 512 mb
HD: 80 GB
Ext HD: 120 GB
Processor: 1 Intel Pentium IV @ 2591.43 MHz Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.60GHz x86 Family 15 Model 2 Stepping 9
Sound: Intel(R) 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV
Graphics Controller card(s): Plug and Play Monitor Default Monitor 1024x768x32bpp - 75Hz monitor
Bios: DELL - 7 Phoenix ROM BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 A05
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
As we have no idea on what motherboard you have in that (Dell?) computer, or even what model Dell it is thyat would allow us to determine that, we cannot really advise if it is capable of accepting a "better graphics card" to advise on compatability issues.

A little detail would help a lot!
 

matyd

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
182
MotherBoard:
Bus Type DDR SDRAM
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 100mhz (QDR)
Effective Clock 400 mhz
Bandwidth 3200 mb/s

I'm using Everest Home Edition to give you this info... is this what your talking about?
 

matyd

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
182
Motherboard:
CPU Type Intel Celeron, 2600 MHz (26 x 100)
Motherboard Name Dell Dimension 2400
Motherboard Chipset Intel Brookdale-G i845GEV
System Memory 512 MB (PC2700 DDR SDRAM)
BIOS Type Phoenix (12/02/03)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
Communication Port ECP Printer Port (LPT1)
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2005
Messages
1,269
No you cannot upgrade your graphics much, you have no agp slot. I wouldnt use pci unless you really need faster graphics.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2004
Messages
4,719
Yes thankyou, I have found out from the model info you gave us that you have onboard graphics and no agp slot, any graphics upgrade will limited to a pci graphics card.
You will need to confirm this info before purchasing a new card.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2003
Messages
1,429
beware some off them are PCIE you can only use PCI
Just make shore its only PCI
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Of course, there's no certainty that the PCI video card will be as fast as the on-board graphics! :rolleyes:
 

matyd

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
182
I installed the Radeon 9250 with 256mb dor... only one problem... i can't see my start menu?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top