1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Intel Management Engine

Discussion in 'General Security' started by Johnny-be-Good, Oct 11, 2017.

Advertisement
  1. Johnny-be-Good

    Johnny-be-Good John Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    944
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Active_Management_Technology

    There seems to be issues with a security hole:
    (general search)
    https://www.google.com/search?client=ubuntu&channel=fs&q=Intel+Management+Engine&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8

    An example of a 'fix' seems beyond the realm of home owners and there can be serious negative effects including bricking a computer depending on the hardware:
    https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Sakaki's_EFI_Install_Guide/Disabling_the_Intel_Management_Engine

    How serious is this IME and what else can be done to address the issue?

    (I've read AMD has something that may be similar)
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. Johnny-be-Good

    Johnny-be-Good John Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    944
    I got a bit queasy about the fix and decided to ask a question first.

    I found the appropriate method of fixing it is from the manufacturer, Acer in my case.
    The 'Fix' is to flash the bios.
    In my Bios, there is an option to turn off 'Intel AMT'
    Since this computer is a home unit, there is no need of any kind of IT management.

    I'm not wild about flashing the bios unless there is no other solution, but as there is an option to turn off AMT, is this appropriate instead of flashing the bios in my situation?
     
  4. Johnny-be-Good

    Johnny-be-Good John Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    944
    curiously, I'm not seeing much interest in this thread of this vulnerability.

    Since about 2006, business oriented computers ( like those with versions of Win Pro )
    have an additional chipset that is a co-processor running it's own OS for the purpose of out of band management. This May it was discovered there was a serious flaw in it's firmware. Nothing in Windows updates appears to correct this vulnerability of a hacker being able to take over control of such a computer through 'out of band management' which is what 'Intel AMT'
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Active_Management_Technology
    accomplishes.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Out-of-band_management

    As shown, IT involvement through this process is done without any involvement of the host's operating system. It's done through that co-processor.

    There are conflicting discussions at various sites on how to fix and what some fixes actually accomplish.

    'Intel AMT' is essentially an intentional backdoor into computers. And hackers have found out how to bypass installed operating systems.

    I'm interested in whether turning off 'Intel AMT' in the bios actually turns off the above process because there seems to be conflicting opinions.
     
  5. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    51,590
    Home computers will not have the AMT chip installed
    It is an "option" on some makes & models of computers sold to enterprise/business.
    If you do not have the chip then you cannot be affected
    Intel management engine should NOT be disabled on a computer otherwise you will suffer lots of problems
     
  6. Johnny-be-Good

    Johnny-be-Good John Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    944
    I do have a business class machine, an Acer VM6630G, with the co-processor and the Intel AMT issue. However, I'm using it in a home -office situation and don't require the out of band option as there is no IT involved here. ( I'm it. )
    It was purchased new from Newegg when on sale at a low price.

    I'm aware there can be problems if IME is disabled. However, AMT is one of the functions of IME and there is a bios setting for AMT to disable AMT.

    And this is where it becomes confusing for me.

    I can't find a definitive answer as to whether the setting completely disables AMT or resets it to default settings as I've seen posted.

    The 'fix' Acer provides, addresses the firmware but it doesn't appear to have additional options to disable AMT.

    Thus my interest in the current bios option and what it does.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2017
  7. Johnny-be-Good

    Johnny-be-Good John Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    944
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1197731