1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Intel mother board

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Gadgetmen, Dec 3, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gadgetmen

    Gadgetmen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    I have a intel mother board and was upgrading the memory with qty 2/256 pc 133 chips but it will not even go to the bios screen. The chips work in 2 of my other computers. I was wondering if anyone knows what the deal is with that. The board type is D815eea with a PIII 800mhz chip. I currently have 3 128 in computer now.

    Thanks,
    Kelly
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Are the old sticks 133 as well? Sounds like the board should accept both types if they are in the proper configuration. From their site:

    When installing memory, note the following:
    Non-SPD DIMMs will always revert to a 100 MHz with 3-3-3 timing SDRAM bus.
    Mixing Non-SPD DIMMs with SPD DIMMs will always revert to a 100 MHz with 3-3-3 timing SDRAM bus.
    The BIOS will not initialize installed memory above 512 MB. At boot, the BIOS displays a message indicating that any installed memory above 512 MB has not been initialized.
    Mixed memory speed configurations (133 and 100 MHz) will default to 100 MHz.
    133 MHz SDRAM operation requires a 133 MHz system bus frequency processor.
    The board should be populated with no more than four rows of 133 MHz SDRAM (two double-sided or one double-sided plus two single-sided DIMMs).
    100 MHz SDRAM may be populated with six rows of SDRAM (three double-sided DIMMs).

    It also states 3.3V memory only
     
  3. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    Is the memory buffered or unbuffered? According to the specs for your board:
    "Must comply with the PC SDRAM Unbuffered DIMM Specification"

    It also noted this:
    "133 MHz SDRAM operation requires a 133 MHz system bus frequency processor."
    (though "Mixed memory speed configurations (133 and 100 MHz) will default to 100 MHz.")
     
  4. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    Ya beat me!
     
  5. Gadgetmen

    Gadgetmen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    I am tring to check if they are unbuffered or not.
    Thanks for all of your help
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60546

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice