1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

intel MP3 player

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by HonestDon19, Dec 29, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. HonestDon19

    HonestDon19 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    70
    hello good sir,
    i have win XP on my computer and i got an intel MP3 player for christmass. i installed the program that came with the mp3 player, heres the problem, the program doesn't read that the mp3 player is hooked up. i've gone threw the tests that they give on line but that doesn't help. why won't it show that its hooked up. Thanks alot
    jayson
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,992
    Hiya

    Which vesion of the mp3 player have you got, and do you also know the name of the software that you're using?

    There are some drivers available for XP, but this is just for one type of player. It may not be your's, so if you could fully confirm what it is, we can do some searching for you.

    Here is what I have found from Intel:

    http://www.intel.com/home/audio/upgrade/index.htm

    But as I say, its just for the one type of player.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. HonestDon19

    HonestDon19 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    70
    hello
    the software that i have is intel audio manager 1.0 and the mp3 player is the intel pocket concert. i've also tryed that site you mentioned. nothing
    thanks
    jayson
     
  4. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
  5. HonestDon19

    HonestDon19 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    70
    hi sir
    i did that already. and everythings there. it won't read.
    thanks
    jayson
     
  6. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Did you try this one
    1. Go to your computer's Device Manager:

    In Windows* 98 and Windows Me:
    a) Click Start > Settings > Control Panel.
    b) Double-click System.
    c) Click the Device Manager tab.

    In Windows* 2000:
    a) Click Start > Settings > Control Panel.
    b) Double-click System.
    c) Select the Hardware tab.
    d) Click Device Manager.

    2. In Device Manager, click the + in front of Universal Serial Bus Controller.

    3. Select the USB Composite Device.

    4. Click the Remove button.

    5. Click the Refresh button. Windows will redetect the audio player and properly install the drivers for it.


    Also some usb devices like the software installed first with the usb device disconnected at the bootup
    Then after installing the software shutdown, install the device, and reboot.
     
  7. HonestDon19

    HonestDon19 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    70
    well i just tryed that and everything went smoothly, open the program and it still doesnt' read the MP3 player............(the mp3 player even says USB on the display, like its connected)
    thanks
    jayson
     
  8. HonestDon19

    HonestDon19 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    70
    hello,
    iam just writing back so you don't forget about me. i want to get back on top weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
    later
    jayson
     
  9. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    does it give you an error message, if so what is the exact message.
     
  10. HonestDon19

    HonestDon19 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    70
    hi
    well it doesn't give me an error message. all it says is "the intel pocket concert audio player is not currently connected to this PC" when infact it really is hooked up
    thanks
    jayson
     
  11. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Have you had any other usb devices attached to your computer that have worked.

    Just fishin, trying to find out why
     
  12. HonestDon19

    HonestDon19 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    70
    yes i have, i have an intel webcam and a digi camera.
    thanks
    jayson
     
  13. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    I don't get it. If you have done the above I really don't know other than trying it with your other devices disconnected.

    Possibly it's just a bad unit

    Anyone else got an idea, I'm out
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63340

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice