1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Intel Speed Step / Turbo Boost

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Rainstorm88, Jul 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Rainstorm88

    Rainstorm88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Hello, Im kind of new here so just ask for more details if i am lacking!


    I have a new Dell xps15 laptop with the i7-2720QM processor running windows 7 professional

    It is said to run at 2,2ghz and speed step up to 3.3ghz.

    Using CPU-Z i can see it self stepping from 2.2ghz down to 700mhz (when not in use) but i NEVER see it step up to 3.3ghz. ANyone have any idea WHY this is? or how i can enable the processor to access the Higher level of processing, A google search just takes me to DELL or Intel website where I get no help at all :(.

    I have Tried Stress Testers on my CPU on all 4 cores (maxes at 2.2ghz) and One core alone using prime95 and still CPU-Z reads 2.2ghz.


    Sorry if this isn't too clear but if you need anymore information please ask! :)

    Thanks alot!
     
  2. prunejuice

    prunejuice

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,432
    The Intel i7-2720QM runs at 2.2Ghz...not sure where you get 3.3Ghz...
     
  3. Rainstorm88

    Rainstorm88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13

    Clock Speed
    2.2 GHzMax Turbo Frequency
    3.3 GHz


    Im after accessing the Turbo boost to 3.3ghz, but i cant seem to. This is my problem dude :)
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,240
    Have you checked the bios to see if turbo boost is by chance disabled?
     
  5. Rainstorm88

    Rainstorm88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    The turbo boost in bios is enabled, i have checked this :)
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,240
  7. Rainstorm88

    Rainstorm88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    I did this and as I said earlier, it is capped at 2.2ghz and doesn't turbo boost up to 3.3ghz!
     
  8. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,240
    Did you run this on A/C pw or on battery?

    Next what are your temps ie cpu temp, etc?

    Just to be sure you installed the intel app and checked with that NOT cpuz correct?
     
  9. Rainstorm88

    Rainstorm88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    After a 10 minute stress test the CPU was at 52degrees

    Running on the AC power, all setting are on high performance on the power settings and advanced settings

    an the Intel Turbo Display didn't go above 2.2ghz "turbo boosted"

    Hope this helps :)
     
  10. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    Go to the Dell site, enter your service tag number and download and install Dell's latest BIOS for your machine.
     
  11. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,240
    OK turbo boost is predicated on a number of things;
    pw consumption
    temp
    load, etc. If it is not working, then I would contact dell.
     
  12. Rainstorm88

    Rainstorm88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    downloading an updated version now, will post the results
     
  13. Rainstorm88

    Rainstorm88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13

    I have updated my bios and checked through it, The Options within the bios are all the same & the Intel Turbo Viewer is still saying its maxed at 2.2ghz.

    On the Turbo viewer there is a green leaf in the bottom right saying "energy saver" even tho ALL advanced power settings are on Max performance etc
     
  14. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    I agree with crjdriver, I would call Dell and see if they have a solution to your problem.
     
  15. Rainstorm88

    Rainstorm88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Dell have no answer for me, they tell me because it runs at 2.2ghz then its doing its job... they dont seem to understand that it should speed step to 3.3ghz, no matter how I explain it.


    Any Ideas!?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1005329

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice