1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Intermittent disconnect/reconnect

Discussion in 'Networking' started by lscythel, Jan 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lscythel

    lscythel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Hi, I've been using my router, a SMC2804WBR for about 4-5 years now. It hasn't given me any problems until recently when my connection (wired) would go off for a second, then reconnect again. In this case, both activity and connection lights (orange and green) from my Ethernet card and the router would go off, then on again as it reconnects.

    It does not disconnect me from my online games or msn etc, it just gives me a load of packet losses, which is irritating.

    OS: Vista home premium 32x
    ISP: starhub cable vision (singapore)

    3 pcs using a wireless connection, 1 pc using a wired connection.

    Tried the following steps,

    - reset everything
    - firmware upgrade
    - disabled firewall
    - plugged the LAN cable into the other LAN ports on the router

    Things that I did not do, well because i don't have the chance to...

    - use a direct connection, I don't have a straight cable long enough
    - do a LAN cable test (how do you do one? x_x)

    I have no idea what could be the problem, this problem popped up just a week ago.

    Thank you for looking into this.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Does the wired connection fail as well as the wireless connection? This could be simply the router dying, you seem to have covered most of the bases here if the wired connection is also failing.
     
  3. lscythel

    lscythel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Nope, wireless connection works out fine.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Wireless works, but the wired connection doesn't? Have you tried more than one computer on the wired side of the router? This could be an issue with the computer, not the router.
     
  5. lscythel

    lscythel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    hmm ya i'll give it a go. Thanks
     
  6. lscythel

    lscythel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    hmm ok... I plugged the same cable into my laptop and the problem seemed to magnify, as in the disconnect/reconnect cycle became even more frequent. The other desktops are too far away for my cable.

    Is it possible that the cable itself is faulty? perhaps 1 of the 8 wires suddenly stopped working, or have an unstable connection?

    Or when any of the 8 wires are broken, can the cable cannot be used at all?

    x_x going to bed now..I shall check back after work tomorrow.

    Good night!

    and thank you once again!
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, I'd obviously try another cable. There are only four active lines for a 10/100mbit Ethernet connection, and all 8 are used for gigabit.
     
  8. lscythel

    lscythel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Ahh weekend!! finally have time to buy a new cable. Ok, and... same problem. This time I bought a really long one so it can now reach my modem and voila! When i used a direct connection to the modem, the problem disappears...for now... i'll have to wait and see...

    Looks like after 5-6 years, my router has finally reached the end of its lifetime.

    *hopes and prays that the direct connection works*

    What other troubleshooting things can be done?

    Thanks for your help!
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If a cable to the router fails, and a cable to the modem works, you know where the issue is.

    Two things to try that might revive it.

    Download the latest firmware for the router and install it.
    Reset the router to factory defaults and reconfigure.

    If that still doesn't get the router working, I'd be thinking of shopping for a new router.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/669880

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice