1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Intermittent Internet Connectivity

Discussion in 'Networking' started by kit69, Apr 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kit69

    kit69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    I have problems with internet connectivity through wifi.
    I have multiple computers and devices using 20mbps broadband connection.

    I have a Mac OS X mac mini, a windows 7 laptop, iphone, PS3, nintendo and windows vista PC using this connection.
    PC connection using homeplug have no connectivity problem.

    All other devices using wifi experience intermittent internet connectivity.
    Wifi signal strengths is good to excellent. I have WPA2 security password.

    Previously I use 4mbps with unsecured line - no such problems.

    Now with new 20mbps service and WPA2 security, I sometimes get connections and many times I don't.

    Please help.

    kit
     
  2. Saga Lout

    Saga Lout

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791

    I keep coming across this with WPA2 and find that reducing the security level takes the problem away. I can't think how, in technical terms, that WPA2 could be too strong for its own good but it certainly seems so. If your environmental circumstances permit, you might consider doing this - that is only if there's little chance of anyone trying to hack into your network. If you live in a quiet area, 100 yards from the nearest neighbour or car-parking place, give it a try - maybe just for half a day. Any other environment, shorten the experiment to an hour.

     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,801
    First Name:
    Terry
    Using WPA-PSK, TKIP is not much of a security reduction. It has not yet been broken.

    Wireless interference could be an issue here. Please show a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector.
     
  4. kit69

    kit69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]I've attached screen grab from Xirius as requested.
    Hope you can help me.

    Sara Lout, I wouldn't unsecure my network anyways. I live in a closed community and as you can see, I can see my neighbour's wifi.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, your network appears to be pretty weak, and I'd suggest trying channel 11 as well.
     
  6. kit69

    kit69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    JohnWill,
    Thanks for your tip.
    The signal appears to be weak is because I was using my laptop.
    My Mac Mini still experience intermittent connectivity to the internet.
    In fact, I got myself a homeplug for my mac mini now instead of fussing around with wifi.
    I still hope someone can still help me with this problem.

    Stupid question: What has this got to do with signal strength when my airport or wifi show connectivity but not to the internet.
    In fact the link shown on windows 7 network status shows no problems with wifi to router. It's just the link to the outside world is faulty.

    kit69
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,801
    First Name:
    Terry
    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  8. kit69

    kit69 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    TerryNet,
    Here is the text file as requested.
    Hope you can help.

    Thanks,
    kit69
     

    Attached Files:

    • kit.txt
      File size:
      3.4 KB
      Views:
      64
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,801
    First Name:
    Terry
    Try the following tests in a Command prompt window.

    ping 192.168.0.106 (or whatever your current IPv4 address is)

    ping 192.168.0.1

    ping 98.137.149.56

    ping yahoo.com
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/916303

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice