1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Intermittent network on selected computers

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Satchelmouth, Apr 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Satchelmouth

Satchelmouth Thread Starter

I am a software engineering student with a reasonable knowledge of network architecture and how to configure networks. Because of this my father recently asked me to install a new Belkin N wireless modem router. For some reason it cuts out intermittently giving either IP address conflict or limited or no connectivity. The gateway appears blank in cmd/ipconfig when the error occurs. This is driving me mad as I have gone with basic settings, and hoped that maybe it would work properly for once?
    It appears to be a DHCP problem but i have no idea how to resolve this. Any help would be appreciated ASAP.
    Satch :confused:

2. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

What's the version of Windows running on the problem machine?

Repair duplicate IP address on network issue.

1. Turn off everything on the network, ALL the machines and any other network device like network printers and NAS drives.
    2. Turn off the router and modem.
    3. Turn on the modem, wait for a steady data light.
    4. Turn on the router, wait two minutes.
    5. Turn on the network devices and computers, one at a time.

This issue is usually caused by resetting a router without resetting all the network connected devices.

Another issue that will cause duplicate IP addresses is assigning static IP addresses to devices that conflict with the router's DHCP address range. If you require static IP addressed devices on the network, they should be configured to be in the same subnet but outside the address range defined for the DHCP server.

3. Satchelmouth