Intermittent nic and wireless

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

craige12

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
12
I have both wireless and ethernet over power line setup. Sometimes I can connect via ethernet and sometimes not. Same goes with wireless, sometimes I can and sometimes I can't. I have tried to disable LAN and run wireless and sometimes it works and vice versa. I have even tried installing a new nic but same thing happens.

What could be my problem?

Thanks in advance,
Craig
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,923
What could be my problem?
Not going to try for an exhaustive list. Some possibilities include router problem(s), defective ethernet cable(s), power line adapter (plugin) problem, electrical system problems, wireless interference, incorrect driver(s), corrupted security application, driver, stack or WINSOCK.

Try to eliminate or isolate to some of those.
 

craige12

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
12
I am going to try to run a cable directly from router to computer and see if that has a reliable connection. Wireless is a different animal as all of my laptops and Iphone have excellent wireless reception in the same room where the problematic desktop is.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
running the cable would be a good move
but also on the desktop

post back an ipconfig /all and ping tests when its working and also repeat all the tests and post here when it disconnects

lets also see an xirrus screen shot



------------------------------------------------------------------------
{ipconfig /all}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
-> Start
-> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all
-> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all

A black box will appear on the screen -
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy

then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
{Ping Tests}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

Type the following command
Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
post back results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
{run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
Then run and install the program
if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,923
With that additional information about the other wireless devices, and assuming this is the XP system in your Computer specs ...

(From a JohnWill post)

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

craige12

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
12
Here is what I get with cable connected directly from router and wireless disconnected (I will reconnect wireless and run xirrus after)...


Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : carlson
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit
Ethernet Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-E0-61-11-C2-8E
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.5
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 09, 2011 10:35:46 AM

Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 10, 2011 10:35:46 AM


C:\Documents and Settings\Craig>


Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Craig>ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Craig>


Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Craig>ping google.com

Pinging google.com [66.102.7.99] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 66.102.7.99: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=252
Reply from 66.102.7.99: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=252
Reply from 66.102.7.99: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=252
Reply from 66.102.7.99: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=252

Ping statistics for 66.102.7.99:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 8ms, Maximum = 9ms, Average = 8ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Craig>


Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Craig>Ping 209.183.226.152

Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=78ms TTL=250
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=79ms TTL=251
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=80ms TTL=251
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=80ms TTL=250

Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 78ms, Maximum = 80ms, Average = 79ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Craig>
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
with that post #6 you have a good etherent connection - did you surf the interent OK
did you get any disconnections - connected like that - if so post the results again

also log into the router and change the wireless channel use 1 or 11
 

craige12

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
12
with that post #6 you have a good etherent connection - did you surf the interent OK
did you get any disconnections - connected like that - if so post the results again

also log into the router and change the wireless channel use 1 or 11
Even though it looks like a good connection, it sometimes takes 30 seconds to connect to a site. I disconnected wireless just now and tried to go to yahoo.com. It took a good 30 seconds to connect. I also get connection timeouts quite often. I just ran speedtest.net and results were 9.75mb/s down and 2.17mbs up - 12ms ping.

What could be causing this? It's very frustrating to not be able to get the fast internet that I should have.

EDIT : as I submitted reply, I timed it to see how long until post - 54 seconds !! < removed by moderator >
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
i have removed the abbreviation , we are a family site and like to keep it free as possible of these abbreviation and language

if you have a cable connection to the pc and getting poor speed - you may want to try a different machine on the same cable and see what sort of speed you get

otherwise it may be a virus or malware have you run a uptodate antivirus ?

Also try while connected by the cable
start the PC and keep tapping F8 a menu will appear choose
safemode with networking
see if that is still the same - post the result back here
 

craige12

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
12
I apologize for the abbreviation.

I run Symantec AV Corporate Edition and update constantly - as recently as this a.m. I also run anti spyware programs on a regular basis.

Will try safe mode and come back with result.
 

craige12

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
12
running in safe mode and no issues, connection is super fast as how it should be. Is it a possible virus or malware of some kind?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
yes it could be - something is loading and causing the PC to run slow - it could be norton itself - we do have issues with Norton

to find out what is causing the issue in normal model will probably mean a bit of trail and error - looking at the startup programs and then removing them and see whats causing the issue

the first thing would be to create a restore point - see below
then look at the startups that are ticked and make a note of them all - see msconfig below
then use a clean boot - see below
if it now works in normal mode - its a case of adding the startups and see when it slows down
add the start up by splitting in half - ie add half of them back on see if that works ok - if so add the other half - if that does not work - then take half of the half you added on - see if that still a problem if not add back half of those startups you stopped
so you add in halfs to quickly identify the problem

so to see the startups
start>
run>
msconfig
startup tab

to do a clean boot
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310353

create a restore point
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/helpandsupport/getstarted/ballew_03may19.mspx
 

craige12

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
12
should I really use system restore? This problem with intermittent internet has been going on for a while and I don't know how far to go back. Is there another route I can take?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
not restore back - but before you start the clean boot etc - set up a restore point manually for now - so if you make any errors you can go back
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

No members online now.
Top