1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Intermittent nic and wireless

Discussion in 'Networking' started by craige12, Jan 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. craige12

    craige12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    I have both wireless and ethernet over power line setup. Sometimes I can connect via ethernet and sometimes not. Same goes with wireless, sometimes I can and sometimes I can't. I have tried to disable LAN and run wireless and sometimes it works and vice versa. I have even tried installing a new nic but same thing happens.

    What could be my problem?

    Thanks in advance,
    Craig
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,269
    First Name:
    Terry
    Not going to try for an exhaustive list. Some possibilities include router problem(s), defective ethernet cable(s), power line adapter (plugin) problem, electrical system problems, wireless interference, incorrect driver(s), corrupted security application, driver, stack or WINSOCK.

    Try to eliminate or isolate to some of those.
     
  3. craige12

    craige12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    I am going to try to run a cable directly from router to computer and see if that has a reliable connection. Wireless is a different animal as all of my laptops and Iphone have excellent wireless reception in the same room where the problematic desktop is.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    running the cable would be a good move
    but also on the desktop

    post back an ipconfig /all and ping tests when its working and also repeat all the tests and post here when it disconnects

    lets also see an xirrus screen shot



    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Ping Tests}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,269
    First Name:
    Terry
    With that additional information about the other wireless devices, and assuming this is the XP system in your Computer specs ...

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  6. craige12

    craige12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Here is what I get with cable connected directly from router and wireless disconnected (I will reconnect wireless and run xirrus after)...


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : carlson
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit
    Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-E0-61-11-C2-8E
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.5
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 09, 2011 10:35:46 AM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 10, 2011 10:35:46 AM


    C:\Documents and Settings\Craig>


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Craig>ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Craig>


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Craig>ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [66.102.7.99] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 66.102.7.99: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=252
    Reply from 66.102.7.99: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=252
    Reply from 66.102.7.99: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=252
    Reply from 66.102.7.99: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=252

    Ping statistics for 66.102.7.99:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 8ms, Maximum = 9ms, Average = 8ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Craig>


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Craig>Ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=78ms TTL=250
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=79ms TTL=251
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=80ms TTL=251
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=80ms TTL=250

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 78ms, Maximum = 80ms, Average = 79ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Craig>
     
  7. craige12

    craige12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Here is the xirrus screenshot. I am running on 7KE5R.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    with that post #6 you have a good etherent connection - did you surf the interent OK
    did you get any disconnections - connected like that - if so post the results again

    also log into the router and change the wireless channel use 1 or 11
     
  9. craige12

    craige12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Even though it looks like a good connection, it sometimes takes 30 seconds to connect to a site. I disconnected wireless just now and tried to go to yahoo.com. It took a good 30 seconds to connect. I also get connection timeouts quite often. I just ran speedtest.net and results were 9.75mb/s down and 2.17mbs up - 12ms ping.

    What could be causing this? It's very frustrating to not be able to get the fast internet that I should have.

    EDIT : as I submitted reply, I timed it to see how long until post - 54 seconds !! < removed by moderator >
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i have removed the abbreviation , we are a family site and like to keep it free as possible of these abbreviation and language

    if you have a cable connection to the pc and getting poor speed - you may want to try a different machine on the same cable and see what sort of speed you get

    otherwise it may be a virus or malware have you run a uptodate antivirus ?

    Also try while connected by the cable
    start the PC and keep tapping F8 a menu will appear choose
    safemode with networking
    see if that is still the same - post the result back here
     
  11. craige12

    craige12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    I apologize for the abbreviation.

    I run Symantec AV Corporate Edition and update constantly - as recently as this a.m. I also run anti spyware programs on a regular basis.

    Will try safe mode and come back with result.
     
  12. craige12

    craige12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    running in safe mode and no issues, connection is super fast as how it should be. Is it a possible virus or malware of some kind?
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    yes it could be - something is loading and causing the PC to run slow - it could be norton itself - we do have issues with Norton

    to find out what is causing the issue in normal model will probably mean a bit of trail and error - looking at the startup programs and then removing them and see whats causing the issue

    the first thing would be to create a restore point - see below
    then look at the startups that are ticked and make a note of them all - see msconfig below
    then use a clean boot - see below
    if it now works in normal mode - its a case of adding the startups and see when it slows down
    add the start up by splitting in half - ie add half of them back on see if that works ok - if so add the other half - if that does not work - then take half of the half you added on - see if that still a problem if not add back half of those startups you stopped
    so you add in halfs to quickly identify the problem

    so to see the startups
    start>
    run>
    msconfig
    startup tab

    to do a clean boot
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310353

    create a restore point
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/helpandsupport/getstarted/ballew_03may19.mspx
     
  14. craige12

    craige12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    should I really use system restore? This problem with intermittent internet has been going on for a while and I don't know how far to go back. Is there another route I can take?
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    not restore back - but before you start the clean boot etc - set up a restore point manually for now - so if you make any errors you can go back
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/973106

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice