1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Intermittent performance issues on Dell workstation

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Hannibalian, Sep 10, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hannibalian

Hannibalian Thread Starter

Workstation Model: Dell Precision M4600; running Windows 7 Professional (64 Bit)

Processor: Intel Core i7-2760QM CPU @ 2.40 GHz

RAM: 8 GB

GPU: AMD Radeon HD 6700M

It's a premade workstation laptop, not custom, and AFAIK all components are original, though I did purchase the computer used/refurbished for 600-700 dollars, so I suppose it's not impossible that something in here has been replaced.

I've been using this computer for nearly three years without serious incident. I mostly use it for coursework at my university (at my apartment, that is - this thing is only portable in the technical sense of the word), though I do some light gaming as well. She's not exactly cutting-edge, and I don't expect a ton, but if I lower the graphics settings a fair bit I can even get some more recent games like XCOM 2 to run at acceptable performance levels. Until about six months ago, that is.

I first noticed a strangely slow and sluggish performance when I booted up XCOM 2, as I had previously done many times. Loading times were unusually long, and there was a very pronounced delay between inputting a command and watching it take onscreen. I was perplexed, Alt-F4'd out of the game, and for lack of a better idea, tried restarting the computer. This seemed to resolve the problem.