1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

internal hard disk drive not found, until i run diagnostics..why?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Knome303, Mar 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Knome303

    Knome303 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Hello! I have a Dell studio 1735 laptop, with (seemingly) common problem and even more interesting spin to it.

    When I boot, it sticks to the dell bios screen at about 95%, then shows up with this message:

    "internal hard disk drive not found
    To resolve this issue, try to reseat the drive."
    (system beeps)
    "No bootable devices--strike F1 to retry boot, F2 for setup utility
    Press F5 to run onboard diagnostics"

    Of course, i press F5, it runs its full diagnostics, with flying colors (everything passes)
    once thats done, it boots to windows fine, but its the ONLY way im able to boot to windows,i just dont want to have to do the full diagnostic EVERY time i turn on my laptop.. (plus i think that means that the HDD is going bad?)

    I have reseated, checked connections, etc. i have pretty much checked all that i can find online about how to fix this issue, but no one else seems to have the same situation i do.

    im not sure if anyone could help me, but im savvy enough to dump diagnostic files on here/etc.. i appreciate the help in advance :)
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,570
    Dells have odd BIOS's where you must have any SATA ports disabled that don't have drives connected to them. Verify that only the one SATA port is enabled and the right drive is showing the boot order. The laptops appears to come with an option for a second hard drive. Does yours have a second hard drive? If so has it failed?
     
  3. Knome303

    Knome303 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    in the bios it doesnt give me an option to disable them ?? i have an empty HDD2 tray, all the diagnostics i run on the disc in question comes up fine.

    also, if i change the sata operation to AHCI to ATA (and turn off or on the flash cache module) is when it wont find the drive, but when i change it back to AHCI it will boot windows (7) to the point where the logo is starting to form and then it BSODs (fast) and bios pops back up. :mad:

    any ideas?
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,570
    The reboot makes sense when you switch SATA modes, Windows doesn't have the right driver anymore and bluescreens.

    Not fully following, if you keep the SATA mode at ATA but turn the Flash Cache Module, does it boot properly or no?

    What BIOS level are you at? You may want to download and re-flash the BIOS to the latest one from the Dell website.

    Here's a utility to allow the change in the BIOS: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/922976
    Run it while in the working mode, then boot into the BIOS and change it to the new mode.
     
  5. Knome303

    Knome303 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    seemingly so with how the situation is now when it boots, its just odd that i set it all up in the AHCI mode by default and it worked for a while then just quit.

    Studio 1735 Series
    A05

    sorry for the bad explination, right now, if i put it at this setting it boots halfway to windows (almost makes the 'window' icon), then fast bluescreens 0x0000007B (cant find the drive..)

    onboard devices -> SATA operation: AHCI (Default)
    onboard devices -> Flash Cache Module: Enabled (Default)

    then i switched it to these settings and rebooted and it booted JUST fine: edit: a few times over so far on restarts and all is okay.
    onboard devices -> SATA operation: ATA
    onboard devices -> Flash Cache Module: Disabled

    ill run it now that i got some results and let you know how it goes on the boot afterwards. this should help the problem immensely, but ill update. THANK YOU! :D
     
  6. Knome303

    Knome303 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    so i ran that microsoft diagnostic tool, and i thought it fixed the issue, until i shut down and turned back on.

    same error.

    ive noticed something though: if i press F2 when i get the error to go into BIOS settings, as long as i do SOMETHING so it asks me to save the bios, when it restarts after it saves, it will boot windows just fine, but not until i either do that or the diagnostic from a turn on of a cold boot. could it be an issue with bios itself?

    update: also once i restart windows from windows, it restarts fine, but if i shut down and turn on, i get the error.
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,570
    After running the Microsoft Fixit, can you switch to AHCI mode and boot successfully?
     
  8. Knome303

    Knome303 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    i have to switch back and forth, unless its restarting and not 'cold booting' or 'hard booting' i think its referred to as, if im just restarting it works fine, if its from a fresh start up i have to either change something in the bios that allows me to save (and then restarts and loads windows fine, either SATA or ATA, doesnt matter (nor does the fast option)

    so it seems to not find the drive on a cold boot, but will after i edit the bios (even if it has NOTHING to do with the boot order or anything, it seems like i need the bios to "re-load"
     
  9. Knome303

    Knome303 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    also: after the microsoft fixit, i was able to boot under both ways (AHCI or whatever and ATA) and the other thing doesnt matter if i have it on or off.

    BUT the ONLY way i can make the system FIND the drive with the OS on it is to press F2 when the computer loads and go into bios, make a change that wont effect anything (possibly bottom of the list boot order) and then save, and it boots windows fine.


    also i noticed that if i boot from the windows CD, and then press escape when it asks me what i would like to do (recovery, etc) and it will boot windows that way too from a cold boot.


    odd, yes?
     
  10. Knome303

    Knome303 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    only if i do the steps i just mentioned. also i can boot by doing these steps as well in either mode:

    (windows 7 install disk is in the drive)
    turn system on
    press F12 at boot screen (boot list)
    it comes up with the internal error and then proceeds to ask what to boot on
    i press enter to boot to dvd/cd
    the next prompt where it gives recovery options, i press escape, and it boots to windows.

    ... otherwise, it cant find the drive.
     
  11. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,570
    Almost sounds like the drive isn't ready during a normal boot unless it's given more time. Is there any option for a hard drive delay in the BIOS? Some desktops have such an option. Or disable an Fast or Quick Boot option in the BIOS.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1091731