1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internal Wi-Fi connection probs?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by tquley83, Dec 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tquley83

    tquley83 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    After purchasing a new home pc (hp G5000) when i try to connect to my wi-fi it connects but with limited or no signal.

    My phone and laptop can connect from the same location so i don;t beliveve that to be the problem.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    here's my ipconfig
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Megan>ipconfig
    Windows IP Configuration

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b162:8d3c:c6b1:b713%14
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.9
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::70ad:ad2a:84f7:40f5%13
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.10
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fb:3066:a40:3f57:fdf5
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3066:a40:3f57:fdf5%12
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{FED84278-5730-4A71-AEBC-309C8FDFD3A5}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Tunnel adapter isatap.Belkin:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,413
    First Name:
    Wayne
    it seems to be connected to the router - both wireless and by cable - does it work OK connected by cable to the router?

    can we see an ipconfig /all
    lets see some ping tests with the cable disconnected


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping 192.168.2.1
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. tquley83

    tquley83 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Here are the rusults to the ping tests, this is the fastest i have seen the connection since the purchase and this probably won't last long.

    Ping 192.168.2.1 test
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Megan>ping 192.168.2.1
    Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 1ms

    ping google.com test
    C:\Users\Megan>ping google.com
    Pinging google.com [209.85.147.106] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.85.147.106: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.85.147.106: bytes=32 time=35ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.85.147.106: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.85.147.106: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=52
    Ping statistics for 209.85.147.106:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 29ms, Maximum = 35ms, Average = 31ms
    C:\Users\Megan>

    ping 209.183.226.152 test
    C:\Users\Megan>ping 209.183.226.152
    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=141ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=98ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=99ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=100ms TTL=52
    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 98ms, Maximum = 141ms, Average = 109ms
    C:\Users\Megan>
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,413
    First Name:
    Wayne
    the ping tests look OK - BUT is that with the cable connected - which works - is that correct ?

    if with the cable connected - remove and repeat the tests and post here , ipconfig /all and the PING tests, so we can see what happens with just wireless
     
  5. tquley83

    tquley83 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    This is with just wireless, however the internet and download speed was still slow and showing limited or no connectivity.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,413
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you still had a ethernent connection -
    try with the ethernet cable removed
    lets also see an xirrus screen shot - lets check for any interference

    try
    speedtest.net
    and
    pingtest.net

    it maybe a virus/malware on the PC - have run any virus scan - what security software do you have

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. tquley83

    tquley83 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    ethernet cable now removed.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Megan>ping 192.168.2.1
    Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 2ms, Maximum = 4ms, Average = 2ms
    C:\Users\Megan>ping google.com
    Pinging google.com [209.85.147.99] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.85.147.99: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.85.147.99: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.85.147.99: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.85.147.99: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=52
    Ping statistics for 209.85.147.99:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 30ms, Maximum = 32ms, Average = 31ms
    C:\Users\Megan>ping 209.183.226.152
    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=103ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=100ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=100ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=101ms TTL=52
    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 100ms, Maximum = 103ms, Average = 101ms

    Speedtest.net
    Ping: 25ms
    Download: 0.39mbps
    Upload: 0.30mbps

    Pingtest.net
    Packet Loss: Unable to test
    Ping: 23ms
    Jitter 4ms
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,413
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so that is connected OK
    but not very good results here
    however you said
    so what is happening now ?
     
  9. tquley83

    tquley83 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Nothing has changed, the wi-fi connection exists but signal shows as poor but both laptop and phone connect fine from same location, the tests show that accessing the internet and downloadimg is near impossible.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,413
    First Name:
    Wayne
    connect with a cable and lets see the speedtest

    also would you post the xirrus screenshot
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1029824

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice