Solved "Internet Access" on hotspot but not actually working

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

t.wain

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
3
So I made a hotspot on my phone, and when connecting my laptop to it I do get the "Connected" and "Internet access" messages. However, internet isn't working at all, not even a ping to google.com. Mobile data is obviously turned on on my phone, so it's not a matter of forgetting to do that. The laptop can connect just fine to other WiFi networks. It was also able to connect to my hotspot and browse the internet successfully until a couple of weeks ago. I have no idea what to do about it, googling only gives results about "No Internet access".

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3230M CPU @ 2.60GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 3914 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000, 1829 Mb
Hard Drives: C: 69 GB (22 GB Free); D: 314 GB (79 GB Free); E: 314 GB (26 GB Free); H: 0 GB (0 GB Free);
Motherboard: Acer, VA70_HC
Antivirus: None
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
68,760
Hi t.wain, and welcome to TSG.

With the laptop showing a connection to your hotspot, please run the following commands one at a time from the command prompt and then copy and paste the full results into a Reply here.

Code:
IPCONFIG /ALL

TRACERT 8.8.8.8
Edit: Changed PING to TRACERT
 

t.wain

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
3
Code:
C:\Users\***>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ***-PC
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : somedomain.com

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5BWB222 Wireless Network Adapte
r
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 2C-D0-5A-EC-D2-3B
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a99d:46d4:770:4379%14(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.43.134(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 11 noiembrie 2018 05:35:37
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 11 noiembrie 2018 06:35:37
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.43.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.43.1
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 355258458
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-22-A5-8D-74-7C-05-07-F7-C6-DC

   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.43.1
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : somedomain.com
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR8151 PCI-E Gigabit Eth
ernet Controller (NDIS 6.20)
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 7C-05-07-F7-C6-DC
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5143:6895:55e0:850c%11(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.22.95(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.128
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 11 noiembrie 2018 02:45:10
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 11 noiembrie 2018 09:57:11
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.22.126
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.22.126
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 293340423
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-22-A5-8D-74-7C-05-07-F7-C6-DC

   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.22.126
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.somedomain.com:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : somedomain.com
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{87CF124A-948F-4EB8-AB95-878D1A9DC680}:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{24A07C4F-884C-4237-B0C2-E37506F680AF}:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\***>tracert 8.8.8.8

Tracing route to google-public-dns-a.google.com [8.8.8.8]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  3     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  4     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  5     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  6     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  8     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  9     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 10     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 11     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 12     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 13     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 14     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 15     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 16     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 17     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 18     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 21     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 23     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 24     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 25     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 26     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 27     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 28     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 29     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 30     *        *        *     Request timed out.

Trace complete.
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
68,760
The IPCONFIG results look like your laptop was connected to networks both by an Ethernet cable (192.168.22.126 gateway) and WiFi (192.168.43.1 gateway). That could throw off some of the test results if that was the case. Did you have two connections going at the same time?

The TRACERT results have me scratching my head. The command was able to connect to your local Gateway (router), which also is the local DNS server, to do a reverse DNS lookup of the 8.8.8.8 IP address. That is how the command can show the "google-public-dns-a.google.com" results. The first hop of the TRACERT command should be the ping time between your computer and your local Gateway. The results show that the connection failed. I will need to do some research in the morning to see if anything other than a dual connection could cause that.
 

t.wain

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
3
Huh. I had only turned off my PPPoE connection, but kept the Ethernet cable plugged in. After plugging it off, the connection to the hotspot started working normally (and now it works with the cable back in as well).
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
68,760
Glad to hear you got it working. I have no explanation how unplugging the Ethernet cable in Windows 7 would make the WiFi connection functional.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,010
It's most likely that the computer was getting confused on which route to take. I have seen this before but that was a long time ago. Usually computers will go through the fastest connection (Ethernet in this case) so why it didn't work is interesting.
 

RT

Joined
Aug 20, 2000
Messages
12,233
As an aside, when ever I look at a Tech Guy Sys Info result and I see "Antivirus: None" listed, I have to ask... You have one that the TSG utility does not recognize, or are you skating on thin ice?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top