1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet access problem

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by JoeE, Sep 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JoeE

    JoeE Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    I'm in the process of setting up my new PC with Vista premiuim.

    I have no problem getting on the internet through IE7. However, after installing several applications (Family Tree Maker 2008) and The Weather Chanel freebie that lets you keep up with local weather, I find that I cannot access the Internet for specifics required by those applications using the links within the application.

    I'm sure there must be a problem in my settings somewhere, but after several hours, I'm still stumped

    My computer is a Dell XPS 420 with 4GB of Ram. Email and IE7 work perfectly.
    I use the AVG Firewall.

    Would appreciate any advice.

    Joe
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,214
    First Name:
    Terry
    First suspect is the AVG firewall. Second suspect is another firewall.
     
  3. JoeE

    JoeE Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    I agreed and have tried to my limited knowledge to change settings on the firewall, but still having problem with accessing internet through Family Tree Maker. Did work out situation with other application.

    JoeE
     
  4. ShadowProwler420

    ShadowProwler420

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Does the Family Tree Maker application have its own specific internet connection settings?
     
  5. JoeE

    JoeE Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Not that I can find. I have an inquiry in to them, but no reply yet.
     
  6. ShadowProwler420

    ShadowProwler420

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Try launching the Family Tree Maker with Administrator privileges (right click on the start menu entry/desktop shortcut and choose Run as Administrator near the top of the context menu), then try making the desired internet connection through the application.

    I'm suspecting UAC is most likely blocking something in the background.
     
  7. JoeE

    JoeE Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks for the suggestion. I tried as you suggested, but it did not work.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Internet access problem
  1. Cartertribe
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    781
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/752357

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice