1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet Access through ethernet works but wireless stopped working.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by manvir_singh, Apr 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. manvir_singh

    manvir_singh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Hello,

    Yesterday, my internet through wireless stopped working all of a sudden. It was working good till I closed my pc and went out for a few hours. When I returned and tried to access, it simply does not connect. I get an error saying "Windows was unable to connect to abcd (router name)". I tried to plug it into the router through ethernet and it works perfectly.

    I have tried to uninstall the wireless adapter and the lan adapter as well. I have tried it in safe mode. I have tried to delete the network also but now that left me with inputting the password everytime I want to connect.

    I am living in a student accomodation with 6 more people and all of them's is working good. I am using Windows 7 Ultimate Edition on Dell Studio 1555. The router is a Netgear one for the Virgin Media Superhub.

    Thanks a lot :)
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see an ipconfig /all and an xirrus screen shot


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.


    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. manvir_singh

    manvir_singh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Manvir-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-FB-D3-62-DE
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-19-FA-68-93
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-25-56-E1-4D-68
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{358C52F8-65A3-4090-9A6F-D2E073A99253}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    try a tcp/ip reset

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Please note and post back - if you receive the message
    Access is Denied

    Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. manvir_singh

    manvir_singh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog
    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Global, OK!
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Reseting Unicast Address, OK!
    Reseting Route, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.

    C:\Windows\system32>
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see a device manager screen shot


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    windows key and pause Key should open to allow device manager to be seen on laptops may need to use windows key + FN key + Pause Key
    if not then

    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. manvir_singh

    manvir_singh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Yes, I can see both my adapters. Attached the screenshot.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    lets see the services running

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Services

    We would like to see some status information for each of the services listed below to do this goto

    Start> {Run in XP} {Search box in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:
    SERVICES.MSC
    OR
    Control Panel>
    Administrative Tools>
    Services>

    then for each of the servies listed below - Please post back the following status information -
    If the service is Started/Stopped
    and
    If the service is Automatic/Manual

    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation


    If a service is not running,
    right click on the service
    then click on properties and now check the dependencies.

    Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running.

    Also to help us identify what may be causing the issue
    Check the event log, there may be clues to what is failing. To do that
    Start >
    control panel >
    administrative tools >
    event Viewer>

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. manvir_singh

    manvir_singh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    • COM+ Event System - started - automatic
    • Computer Browser - (blank) - manual ---- started this service without a problem
    • DHCP Client - started - automatic
    • DNS Client - started - automatic
    • Network Connections - started - manual
    • Network Location Awareness - started - automatic
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC) - started - automatic
    • Server - started - automatic
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper - started - automatic
    • WLAN AutoConfig - started - automatic
    • Workstation - started - automatic
    there is one called Remote Procedure Call (RPC) Locator which is set to manual and does not say started.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
  11. manvir_singh

    manvir_singh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    I have tried it already but it did not work.
     
  12. manvir_singh

    manvir_singh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Tried a restore again, did not work.
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    I'm out of ideas now
     
  14. manvir_singh

    manvir_singh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    okay, thanks anyways!
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,184
    First Name:
    Terry
    etaf asked me to take a look. All I can think of is a couple basics ...

    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from Dell's web site. If you already have that driver reinstall it anyhow in case the installed instance is corrupted.

    Disable encryption on the router and try to connect. Assuming success you can probably re-enable encryption and reconnect. If you can connect w/o encryption but WPA2 still is a no go try WPA instead (it's still just as secure as WPA2).
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1050451

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice