1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet all of a sudden doesnt work on vista laptop

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by WackOh, Nov 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. WackOh

    WackOh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    I have been using the internet via ethernet connection (i live on uni campus) for the past 4 weeks with absolutely no problem, then one day after turning the laptop on from a shutdown the ethernet no longer works and i get a "network cable is unplugged" from my local area connection

    I have tested the cable with my desktop computer which is XP and the ethernet on it still works fine which is how im able to post this

    Ok so heres the information i think is relevant
    Im on ethernet so i dont have a router or modem or anythin - its just an ethernet cable supplied by campus which plugs into the wall socket and my computer
    Vista Home Premium with SP1
    When i type in ipconfig -all into cmd i get:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Russ-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) Family PCI-E
    Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0) #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-15-8B-65-ED
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 5100
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-EA-79-74-B4
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{4731696E-EA78-4AA1-8561-82E6C3786
    CC6}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 19:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 21:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{71AE961F-2E10-4B3E-B7B8-364F488F2
    8AB}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 22:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Local area connection 2 is my internet connection

    Any help i can get would be greatly appreciated as this desktop is ancient and i would like internet to get working on my laptop asap

    Oh i have also gone through some previous posts on this forum and have already done the following into cmd:
    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    To no avail :(
     
  2. Hybird038

    Hybird038

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    To WackOh,

    Before I start, I would just like to say that I'm tech-savvy,but not so with computer terms.

    I have a similar problem. I'm running on a Dell Inspiron 1420 with Windows Vista Home Premium. I'll briefly describe my problem.


    I live in Singapore, and I've got wireless internet. As we all know, Dell laptops have some lights at the bottom left. Amazingly, my WIFI light is on. Below these lights, lies the internet switch. And guess what? Its switched on. I'm currently on an Fujitsu laptop which runs on XP. And all other PC's in my house running on XP connect to my wireless fine!

    When I click the internet logo on the taskbar(Looks like 2 desktops overlapping with a red X), and go to Connect To A Network, it says, "Windows Cannot find any networks''. When I click the refresh button, same case. I scanned my PC's with the multiple anti-virus programs I have and they detected nothing. And something else really bugs me. I can't open certain files. It opens for like a 1/4 of a millisecond and then closes without me giving any command at all!

    I have an Ethernet Cable connected from my modem to my desktop. I took it out of the desktop and fixed it into my problematic laptop. I get connected, but it says ''Local Only''. And I open Mozilla Firefox, Internet Explorer, and they take **** long to load.And when its done loading, it says ''Firefox can't find the server at www.google.com.sg.''

    When I take out the Ethernet cable, it goes back to the original state. I've read an expired thread on the forums and many people have the same issue. It doesn't seem to be a Dell problem, because other people on other PC brands like Sony, Toshiba and whatsoever who are running on OS:Vista(B/HP/BN/U) seem to have the same issue.

    So if anyone else has the same problem and managed to fix it easily, please post a reply. I would greatly appreciate it. Any other suggestions will be acknowledged, except if someone says, ''USE XP!".

    This problem has been going on for 3 days. Dell's customer support doesn't really seem to be of much assistance.

    Thank you.

    Hybird038.
     
  3. WackOh

    WackOh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    I have also installed and reinstalled the most updated drivers for ethernet card and that hasnt fixed the problem either
     
  4. telecom69

    telecom69 Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    9,807
    For what its worth,I get this problem every time when switching my ethernet cable between computers,and its easy to fix by uplugging the modem briefy and than it will connect,its all about having an isp address assigned to the computer,and unplugging the modem allows this to happen ...I know the situation is different from yours but you may get a lead from it perhaps .....
     
  5. WackOh

    WackOh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Well see before ethernet decided not to work on my laptop i was able to freely swap the cable between the desktop and my laptop and it would reconnect to the local area connection with no problems on both machines... its just all of a sudden its as if the ethernet card has died :S but i hope thats not the case as the laptop is only 3-4 weeks old
     
  6. telecom69

    telecom69 Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    9,807
    Looks like you are going to have to call the laptop supplier then now under the terms of the guarantee to get it fixed...
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,586
    Some laptops turn off the ethernet under some circumstances to save battery power. To make sure this is not what you are suffering boot the laptop while it is plugged in and the ethernet cable is connected. If you still get 'Media disconnected' the NIC may have died.

    Does the ethernet LED on the laptop light?
     
  8. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,852
    Have you ran ipconfig -all on the desktop to see what, if anything, is different for it's Ethernet connection? Your ipconfig for the laptop seems to be missing a few items.

    Checked under Network and Sharing to make sure Network Discovery is turned on?
    In View Status, Local Area Connetion Status, Properties, check properties of each item to see if they are configured correctly.

    In Device Manager, Network Adaptors, is there a question mark by your Ethernet Adaptor? If there is a Question Mark you have something wrong with either your card or connection.
    Right click on your Ethernet adaptor and select properties. Should get something similar to shots below. If it is not working properly General tab may have error message. If Links tab has Diagnostics, run it. Will test your connection cable and hardware
     

    Attached Files:

  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,586
    I forgot to ask about "DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No." Are you assigned an IP configuration (by the uni)? If not, you want to change that to 'obtain IP auto' in case you get the adapter working.
     
  10. WackOh

    WackOh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    TerryNet...
    I turned off the power saving boxes and i still get media disconnected

    From what i noticed even when the net worked i never really saw a light being emitted from the ethernet on this laptop

    I enabled DHCP again but that didnt seem to work

    Running ipconfig -all on my desktop which im on now gets me:
    C:\Documents and Settings\User>ipconfig -all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : COMP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon Gigabit Ethernet 10/10
    0/1000Base-T Adapter, Copper RJ-45
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-85-37-B7-E0
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.21.127.192
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 172.21.127.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 129.78.64.18
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 129.78.64.2
    129.78.64.1
    Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 129.78.64.4
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, November 16, 2008 11:46:38 A
    M
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, November 16, 2008 11:46:38 P
    M

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth LAN Access Server Driver
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 24-48-AB-80-B7-68


    dlsay...
    There is no question mark next to my ethernet adaptor, i have already reinstalled my drivers numerous times to no effect

    In generals tab in my ethernet adaptor i get a "This device is working properly"


    Would a format be my last hope?
     
  11. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,852
    Tried posting this 4 times already. Wanted to put in a couple of screen shots so you could see what I am talking about.
    When the laptop is connected: In Network and Sahring, View Status, Local Area Connetion Status, Properties, does it show the connector as your ethernet adaptor.

    Also , in Network and Sharing have you tried running the Diagnose and Repair Option in the top left corner.
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,586
    Did you "boot the laptop while it is plugged in and the ethernet cable is connected"? If so, since you know the uni's router and the ethernet cable are working I think "Media disconnected" indicates a NIC failure.
     
  13. WackOh

    WackOh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    dlsay
    It does show my connector as my ethernet adaptor and have run diagnose and repair i just keep getting that my network cable is unplugged

    TerryNet
    I too now think it is a NIC failure, and im a first time laptop user, so do i have any ways of repairing my NIC? or will i have to use my warranty from asus?
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,586
    For an in-warranty PC I'd request that the warranty be honored.

    For an out-of-warranty laptop I'd get a PC Card (or ExpressCard, depending on the laptop) or USB ethernet adapter.
     
  15. WackOh

    WackOh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Hmm that would mean i have to back everything up again >.< Sigh such a hassle

    I might try formatting the vista partition before using my warranty to see if that might by some chance fix the problem

    But thankyou all so much for your help nonetheless
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/769452