1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet and LinkSYS Router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by DarkMan_X, Jan 27, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DarkMan_X

    DarkMan_X Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    113
    In my current setup I have two computers hooked to a 4-Port LinkSys DSL/Cable Router. This setup has been working for a long time, until the router was set back to the factory default settings somehow. I've tried re-configuring the router so that my home network can connect to the internet. Right now I can't load any web pages on either computer, I can't connect to AOL Instant Messanger, BUT I can however connect to Morpheus. This is a very peculiar problem. The two computers can see each other, they are both connected to the DHCP server on the router, and I can connect to Morpheus, but I am unable to connect to the internet. Any help would be very helpful. Thanks.
     
  2. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    DarkMan
    Sound like there may be some firewall problems with the router or addressing problems. Linksys has a prettry good page for support of the BEFSR41 four port. Might want to run through it and see if anything helps.
    http://www.linksys.com/support/support.asp?spid=1

    Dave
     
  3. English Guy

    English Guy

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 1999
    Messages:
    133
    Are you able to pull up websites by IP address? Enter 207.68.173.254 in your browser Address bar, and see if it loads.

    Also, try tracerouting to an IP from the MS-DOS prompt to see if you can reach a site. You can do this by typing 'tracert 207.68.173.254' from DOS.
     
  4. DarkMan_X

    DarkMan_X Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    113
    No luck with the IP address, it still won't connect. And it couldn't find it by doing a tracert. I called Prodigy and told them I had been connecting for five months via the router, but the guy kept on telling my that my Prodigy software (which I don't even use) is corrupt and that is the reason I am unable to connect. Needless to say, that is not the problem. Thanks for your help though. Anyone else have any suggestions???
     
  5. English Guy

    English Guy

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 1999
    Messages:
    133
    Is the Linksys pulling a valid WAN IP address from your ISP? If so, what is it?
    Are you able to transfer files through Morpheus? If so, you are on the internet, and it would sound like ports are being blocked or filtered.
    Are you using DSL/Cable, and do you need a username & password?
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/66591

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice