Internet browsers going slow

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

fantasygirlxo

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
15
I use Chrome and of course my laptop has IE. Last night Chrome started going slow; it would only load some pages, codes to the page would come up and some pages wouldn't even work. I tried IE and it did the same. I got up today and it was doing the same thing. I was able to look it up and someone had told someone else to uninstall bonjour. Since I had that on my laptop I uninstalled that and than my browsers weren't even getting net. Since I don't have Windows 8 disk and my computer isn't backed up I knew I couldn't restore the whole laptop. So I restored it back to Thursdays date. It seem to help because now my laptop is fine. I just don't know if this could happen again? Right now I'm running malewearbytes in full scan, it's been going for four hours and so far no threats. Does anyone know what it could have been? Could it happen again?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,837
It could have been--let me stress could have, no way for me to know--that Windows "updated" your network adapter with the wrong driver. If that is what happened it could, and probably will, happen again.

You could look now at the Driver details for your network adapter and write it (the version) down. If the same problem happens then look to see if the driver was changed.

To protect yourself from drivers being changed without your knowledge: Control Panel - Devices and Printers - right click on your computer icon - Device installation settings - select "No, let me choose what to do" and "Never install driver software from Windows Update."
 

fantasygirlxo

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
15
Thank you so much for taking the time to reply back. How would I go about looking for the driver details?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,837
In Device Manager right click on the network adapter (or any other device of interest) - Properties - Driver. You will see the Provider, Date, Version and other info.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,837
Click on the triangle in front of Network Adapters to see the list of adapters. Right click on the one you are using.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,837
Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

fantasygirlxo

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
15
Alright, when I did the select all it would not do anything so I deselect and hit enter and this came up. I hope I did the attachment right.

Copying ipconfig /all here (mod):

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
(c) 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Manda>IPCONFIG/ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MandaBear
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 16-E5-43-B2-D9-90
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter mandas internet:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR9485 802.11b/g/n WiFi
Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 74-E5-43-B2-D9-90
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : fdb8:ba2a:d8db:0:14cd:8a1a:d62c:37b7(Pref
erred)
Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : fdb8:ba2a:d8db:0:d9fc:5e58:afa9:272c(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::14cd:8a1a:d62c:37b7%13(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.111(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, February 2, 2013 12:56:27 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, February 5, 2013 12:26:20 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 326427971
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-EB-90-C3-78-E3-B5-7C-14-7E

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.8.8.8
8.8.4.4
209.55.27.13
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 78-E3-B5-7C-14-7E
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{416E6AA1-1188-4938-A06E-9D63136D012C}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:6ab8:3ca6:c7a:bdff:a316(Prefe
rred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3ca6:c7a:bdff:a316%16(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 520093696
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-EB-90-C3-78-E3-B5-7C-14-7E

NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Users\Manda>
 

Attachments

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,837
That shows a wireless connection; so, at least at that time, you were using the Qualcomm Atheros AR9485 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,837
We don't actually know what the cause was. If it was an incorrect driver update see the last paragraph of post # 2 for a preventive measure.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,205
If it should happen again someone has set DNS servers
8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4.

are Google
https://developers.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using

and
209.55.27.13

is Integrated Broadband Services

I am not suggesting that using these DNS servers was the cause of the problem.
Many people prefer to use them

If it happens again I would try as per my screenshot
However you may be perhaps better advised to come back here for help
 

Attachments

fantasygirlxo

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
15
Alright, I don't know what all that means. :) If it happens again I'll be sure to try to come back on here for help.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,205
Well it means that you are using those specific DNS servers rather than as per my screenshot

to change you go control panel network and sharing centre, then click on left pane change adapter settings
right click the wireless adapter, click properties, in the white window, scroll to the Internet Protocol IPV4 and another 6.

Select one by clicking once on that entry to highlight and then click on the properties button below
A new window will open as per my screenshot, but yours will NOT have checked Obtain automatically for the DNS.

As I said it may not have been the problem, but I would try it in any case and see if there is any noticeable improvement
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top