"Internet Cable Unplugged" issue

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Anticrombie23

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 21, 2008
Messages
4
Hello all, and thank you in advance (hopefully)

Well, last night I tried to get on the internet and it said, " Internet Cable Unplugged."

The problem with this is, it is actually plugged in. Currently i'm hooked up to a router (linksys) and all of my other internet connections ( my sister's laptop which I am currently on, and my ipod touch) connect perfectly.

I've had no power failures or any reason to believe this is a hardware failure ( I have a very good feeling this has nothing to do with hardware).

I've tried switching around cable cords such as mixing and matching from router to computer computer to router modem to router, etc. The funny thing about this is, when I try to direct connect my modem to my computer, it doesn't work, but when I connect it back into my router the internet seems to "jump start" ( for example, when I double click on my connection It actually shows "packets received/sent").

I think this has happened before, multiple times actually, and i've usually attributed it to not paying the internet bill, but i've called comcast and they have reaffirmed that I have actually payed, and this is not the problem.

There is a chance that this is a hardware problem ( being internet chords, router, modem, etc) but I STRONGLY disagree with this. Like I am 99% sure it has nothing to do with my hardware, because 24 hours ago my internet was running fine and all of a sudden it just stopped working.

Please, any help at all! It's much appreciated!

-Josh
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.



After that, run these tests.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.




Finally, do this as well.

Try these simple tests.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

IPCONFIG

PING <computer_IP_address>

PING <default_gateway_address>

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

<computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

Anticrombie23

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 21, 2008
Messages
4
&#0;Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig /all
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : your-dc62435b94
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.il.comcast.net.
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.il.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8169/8110 Family Gigabit
Ethernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-21-35-A4-5A
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.102
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.72.130
68.87.77.130
68.87.66.196
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, September 21, 2008 7:03:34 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, September 22, 2008 7:03:34 PM


C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig
Windows IP Configuration

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.il.comcast.net.
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.102
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>PING 192.168.1.102
Pinging 192.168.1.102 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.102: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Ping statistics for 192.168.1.102:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>PING 192.168.1.100
Pinging 192.168.1.100 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.100: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.100: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.100: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.100: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Ping statistics for 192.168.1.100:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms

Sorry this computer has vista and word 2007 and its asking for a keycode so I had to use word pad and it came up all messed up except for this, might be mistakes but I hope not.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
How about the last two pings? FWIW, that sure doesn't look like an unplugged cable, you are successfully pinging the Default Gateway (router), and you got an automatic IP address.
 

Anticrombie23

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 21, 2008
Messages
4
wait, sorry I don't know what you mean by that. What should I do? (I'm not computer illiterate by no means, but I still need some guidance) and yeah, I know its not unplugged literally, but it keeps saying it when I log on and try to disable/reenable my internet connection.

Thank you so much btw!
 

Anticrombie23

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 21, 2008
Messages
4
my god, this is so annoying. This has happened before and for some completely unknown reason it has corrected itself.

I'm ecstatic it's fixed, but i'm completely annoyed I don't know what to fix for the future.

Thank you a lot for your time, and if anyone else seems to have this problem, exactly like I have, I guess time is the only thing that helps.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top