1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet connect but browsers will not open at all.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by navi88, Jan 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. navi88

    navi88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Basically whenever I try to open IE it appears in the processes tab of the task manager, but it doesn't do anything else. Whenever I try to open firefox it keeps telling me it has crashed and appears in the processes tab. It's really annoying because everything was working perfectly fine earlier today then I had a Virtumundo or something virus that I removed and ran a virus scan after that it stopped working. I'm wondering if maybe something got deleted that shouldn't have.
    I googled the problem and tried a bunch of different things and nothing has helped.

    Here's all the info I could think to include:

    Windows XP Service Pack 3
    Kaspersky Antivirus
    2Wire 2700HG-E

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Navi
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : gateway.2wire.net

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel (R) Wireless WiFi Link 5300
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-EA-C3-3D-74
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.66
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 31, 2009 7:48:16PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, February 01, 2009 7:48:16PM

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    This doesn't sound like a networking issue, but rather system corruption. First step would be to uninstall Firefox and install it fresh and see if that helps.
     
  3. navi88

    navi88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    I tried that and it didn't work.
    The problem is that no browser works. I've tried Internet exploerer, Firefox, and Opera with no success.
    I'm wondering if maybe it's a registry problem.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com


    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  5. navi88

    navi88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Navi
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : gateway.2wire.net

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 5300
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-EA-C3-3D-74
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.66
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, February 02, 2009 9:28:54 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, February 03, 2009 9:28:54 PM

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168/8111 PCI-E Gigabit E
    thernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-85-50-B1-74

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>PING 206.190.60.37

    Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=121ms TTL=54
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=121ms TTL=54
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=120ms TTL=54
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=116ms TTL=54
    Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 116ms, Maximum = 121ms, Average = 119ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>PING yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [206.190.60.37] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=107ms TTL=54
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=118ms TTL=54
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=117ms TTL=54
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=107ms TTL=54
    Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 107ms, Maximum = 118ms, Average = 112ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    That looks fine. Try booting in Safe Mode with Networking and see if it works that way.
     
  7. navi88

    navi88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    I think it's a DCOM error or something.
    I contacted the people who built my laptop and they told me to just reinstall windows.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Well, that's the extreme solution. ;)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/796472