1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet Connected, But Can't Browse

Discussion in 'Networking' started by BPahl88, Jan 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BPahl88

    BPahl88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    This is haunted me forever, about a half a year to be exact. Anywho, here's the story.

    A half a year ago I got a serious virus and had to do a system recovery. That went sucessful and all but once we tried to get the internet up and running, it wouldn't. I tried and tried but nothing would work. So I left it and had to use a wired connection or my mom's desktop. (Which is a horror. Lol)

    Every so often I had tried, but with no luck. I eventually went to Best Buy about two months and asked them what may be the problem. The guy said that I may not have installed the drivers from my manufacture's website. So I went home and did. That's about when I was able to get my internet to connect. Yay, right? Wrong. I couldn't browse. And so we're at today. I figured I might as well make this snow day count by trying to get my computer straightened out. I did another restore and that went fine. I went to my manufacture's website and downloaded a few select drivers that had to do with LAN. Before the installation of the drivers, I tried to connect and I couldn't even connect. After I installed them, I was able to connect. Finally I got internet and able to browse! But wait, no I can't.

    So I can connect to the internet, but I cannot browse. Great.

    Could anyone help me? I'd appriciate it greatly. I'll give you some of my computer info and if you need more, just ask. ;)

    Thanks in advance!

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Manufacturer: Toshiba
    Computer Family: Satellite
    Series: A135
    Model: S4677
    Router: NetGear WNR2000
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Again, if you need more, just ask!

    Also: My dad's internet works fine and he uses wireless. (Laptop) So it has to be my computer, not the router. Thanks guys! Peace. :)
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,205
    First Name:
    Terry
    What is listed under Network Adapters in Device Manager? What, if any, warnings or errors are in Device Manager?

    Try to connect by both ethernet and wireless and show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i suspect the virus may still be the issue
    BUT
    Do you have a firewall on the PC - or ever had on the PC - Norton , mcafee etc

    lets see and do quite a few things
    1) Device manager screen shot - see below
    2) Connect to router by a cable - so we can eliminate and wireless type issues - see below
    3) do a tcp/ip reset - see below
    4) lets see an ipconfig /all - see below
    5) Lets see some ping tests -see below
    6) next - if still cannot surf the web - lets try in safemode - as the PC starts keep tapping F8 a menu appears choose safemode with networking
    7) repeat all the ipconfig /all and ping tests and post back here
    8) if still not working - start normally and check the services - see below and post back results
    9) The virus may have set a proxy - control panel > internet options > connection tab> lan settings > whats there

    quite a bit there - ........ any issues just post back and we can take one step at a time



    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Ping Tests}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Device Manager}
    Post back the results in device manager
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    The please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.


    Post back the results here
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.

    Post back the results here
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Services}
    post back the status - started/stopped and automatic/manual
    Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running.

    Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
    Start > control panel > administrative tools > event Viewer

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. friz

    friz

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Had same problem on Toshiba Laptop. Norton 360 had expired, so I ran their uninstall. It didn't complete properly (as I found out later). Did all the netsh reset, etc, to no avail.
    Booted on Linux CD, browsed fine, so no hardware problem.
    Finally after seeing several threads about using the Norton Uninstall, did it, re-booted, could browse just fine.

    Thanks for the ideas.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/973807

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice