1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

internet connecting problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by zzirus, Nov 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. zzirus

    zzirus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    My wireless connection showed connected but Internet Explorer kept showing the page cannot be displaced. When I clicked the diagnose connection problems, the message kept coming back with "Cannot communicate with primary DNS server (65.32.5.111)". I have called my ISP and microsoft and have worked with both technical support representatives and either could help me, one said it is ISP problem, the other said it is the computer system. Both of them said there is anything wrong with my computer or the wireless connection. Please help.
     
  2. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or Windows 7

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  3. zzirus

    zzirus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I have tried what you showed me but it still doesn't work. The line below "cannot communicate with Primary DNS Server" is Net work diagnostics pinged the remote host but did not receive a response.

    I also forgot to add that I also have Mac and one other laptop with Windows XP and both connected fine. When I plugged this problem laptop "wired", it connected with no problem, it is only the wireless connection on this particular one has problem. The connection showed signal strength as "excellent" but not able to connect. The wireless adapter showed "this device is working fine"
     
  4. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
  5. zzirus

    zzirus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    When you mean remove, you mean disconnecting? I have tried to disconnect and remove it many times and even the representative have told me to do it too but still not working. I don't know if this info helps you to know the problem but my wireless connection kept showing "unidentified network" even when the connection is excellent and even when I kept customize it to private, it kept showing "public network"
     
  6. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    Did you try the instructions on the page I linked to?
     
  7. zzirus

    zzirus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I did as you asked but nothing works, still the same error message.
     
  8. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    Click Start.

    In the search bar type devmgmt.msc and hit Enter.

    Click the + next to the pane Network Adapters so it expands, showing all installed hardware.

    Take a screenshot of this window and attach the file in your next post.

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.

    If you have no internet connection on the problem PC, transferring the screenshot via flashdrive or CD to a working computer is possible. If this is not practical for you, a detailed listing of the requested information will suffice, along with reports of any ! ? or X's next to the entries.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1026723

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice