1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Internet connection but no physical address?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by TechFriend65, Oct 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TechFriend65

    TechFriend65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Ok so I built a computer out of old computer parts from when I upgraded my computer. I put these parts into another computer that I gave to my friend. I'ts running windows 7 and I've downloaded 1.8 gb of updates to the machine using my service provider Cableone. I took said machine over to my friends house hooked it up no internet...

    Their ISP is centurylink and after 5+ hours of trying to troubleshoot the computer I took it back to my place hooked it back up and internet. So i'm really quite confused.

    I've tried using a known working cable at their house. The network adapter still shows yellow and red link lights. I've tried setting the adapter to obtain ip address automaticly, I've even tried setting a static ip address which is not in use(I got access to their router). Link lights still yellow and red.

    When the computer is connected to my network/isp the link lights are still yellow and red but I can still get internet.

    PC Specs:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Intel Core 2 [email protected]
    8gb ram
    Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6
    Network Adapter: Marvell Yukon 88E8055 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller(Driver:11.0.5.3 Date:2/23/2009)
    Geforce GTX 660 Ti(Driver: 22.21.13.8494)

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Generic Marvell Yukon 88E8055 PCI-E Gigab
    it Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : ::85b2:6edb:7b1:b281(Preferred)
    Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : ::5134:e4aa:8d79:1c2d(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::85b2:6edb:7b1:b281%13(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.19(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 268435456
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-21-72-CA-F9-00-00-00-00-00-00

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.116.0.53
    24.116.2.50
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled


    Also in case anyone suggests doing ipconfig /release and ipconfig /renew I already tried that.
    "The operation failed as no adapter is in the state permissible for this operation."
    I've also tried "netsh int ip reset", "ipconfig /flushdns" and a few others

    This message was posted from the computer while connected to my internet.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    Please show an ipconfig /all for dynamic addressing for an attempted connection to the friend's router.

    What do the yellow and red link lights for the adapter mean?

    Is the known working cable one that you know works with a gigabit adapter?
     
  3. TechFriend65

    TechFriend65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    I can try and get that ipconfig /all at their place today and yes the known working network cable is a cat6e I've tested it both at my house and theirs.
     
  4. TechFriend65

    TechFriend65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Here is the full ipconfig /all for when it is connected to my network

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Mr. T>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MrT-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Generic Marvell Yukon 88E8055 PCI-E Gigab
    it Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : ::85b2:6edb:7b1:b281(Preferred)
    Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : ::5134:e4aa:8d79:1c2d(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::85b2:6edb:7b1:b281%13(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.19(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 268435456
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-21-72-CA-F9-00-00-00-00-00-00

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.116.0.53
    24.116.2.50
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{1F859AD4-E14B-44DF-9F77-752AE4C4EF7E}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5cf2:8c44:346d:2ddf:3f57:ffec(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::346d:2ddf:3f57:ffec%11(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Users\Mr. T>
     
  5. TechFriend65

    TechFriend65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Another minor thing I should mention is that in the Network and Sharing Center under "Your active networks" at my house it shows "Network Home network(with a blue link)" but at my friends house it registers as a public network and the blue link isn't there. So I can't change the network location and "Treat all future networks that I connect to as public" check box(in the Set Network Location) is not checked.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    Frankly, I've never found anything in the Network and Sharing Center to be very useful. And, while you know the networks (routers) to which the cable is being connected, I do not so for troubleshooting purposes cannot trust any static IP configuration. Not to say you don't know what you are doing; but it just adds another area where a "dumb" mistake could be made.

    If the dynamic connection at the friend's house results in a 169.254.x.y IP address consider the possibility that there is a firewall not trusting (that is, blocking) whatever IP range the router is using. Also that the router is configured for MAC Address filtering or to limit the number of Dhcp IP addresses.
     
  7. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    5,955
    You don't have DHCP enabled on this computer. You've statically entered the IP information. Since you're saying it works on your network but not on your friend's, this further proves my statement.
     
  8. Grey03

    Grey03

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    789
    First Name:
    Benjo
    I agree with zx10guy, as what you've posted. The computer used the same IP's . ISP has different IP's. Why not try setting it to dhcp and see if it works.
     
  9. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    5,955
    Let me clarify the what and the why of my reply.

    First, most people run DHCP on the local network. How I know this PC is not set up for DHCP is in the output of the ipconfig /all. The DHCP Enabled parameter shows No in the outputs. So all the IP information being shown has been entered manually and are static.

    So the IPv4 address is using a 192.168.0.0 subnet. Many times this will work as many people use this or the manufacturer has a default set to this. But some manufacturers use a default of 192.168.1.0. If this is the case, this PC will not being able to route out of the physical network. If the subnets do align where the friend is using a 192.168.0.0 subnet on their local LAN, this will allow routing to work but resolving domains probably won't work as the DNS servers are most likely the ones OP uses for his ISP and not the friends. Just depends if the ISP makes their DNS servers available to be accessed outside of their circuits.
     
  10. TechFriend65

    TechFriend65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Sorry that it took so long to post this. Here is the ipconfig at friends house

    C:\Users\Mr. T>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MrT-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Generic Marvell Yukon 88E8055 PCI-E Gigab
    it Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::85b2:6edb:7b1:b281%13(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.19(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 268435456
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-21-72-CA-F9-00-00-00-00-00-00

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.116.0.53
    24.116.2.50
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{1F859AD4-E14B-44DF-9F77-752AE4C4EF7E}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Mr. T>
     
  11. TechFriend65

    TechFriend65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Heres the ipconfig at the friends house using DHCP
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Mr. T>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MrT-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Generic Marvell Yukon 88E8055 PCI-E Gigab
    it Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::85b2:6edb:7b1:b281%13(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.178.129(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 268435456
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-21-72-CA-F9-00-00-00-00-00-00

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{1F859AD4-E14B-44DF-9F77-752AE4C4EF7E}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Mr. T>
     
  12. TechFriend65

    TechFriend65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Both networks are using the 192.168.0.x range But as Terry has said I think my friends router may need some firewall adjustments as when using the DHCP to get an ip the computer obtains a link local address of 169.254.178.129

    Although setting the network adapter to DHCP on my network too does the same thing so not sure what that proves...

    Could the network adapter be partially broken? Could that explain why it never shows a MAC address? Maybe the firewalls aren't trusting it in DHCP mode because it has no MAC address that's why it always gets a 169.254.178.129 address.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2017
  13. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    95,450
    First Name:
    Mark
    Why doe the MAC (Physical) Address not show up in any of these reports? Even when it is working. Odd ...
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    I meant the PC's firewall. Sorry for not being clear.


    Could be that you have Dhcp turned off on your router (I don't believe that; just being "thorough") or that ...

    Yes! Have "seen" this in threads here a couple or three times.

    Also, your observation and questions about the MAC Address being all zeros could well be true. I cannot even guess either way. But then there's still the question of why the static IP doesn't work on the friend's router (I'm assuming that the Dhcp server is enabled, the LAN IP addresses are 192.168.0.x, and MAC Address filtering is not enabled).

    With the static IP on the friend's router did you try testing with

    ping 192.168.0.1

    That test is needed, 'cause it's possible that the PC is communicating with the router but, as zx10guy posted, maybe those DNS servers do not work with the friend's ISP.
     
  15. TechFriend65

    TechFriend65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    I just ended up buy a NIC card for the computer so i'm gonna go ahead and mark this infernal issue as solved lol
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1198275

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice