1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet Connection/Ethernet Drivers

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Yiroep, Nov 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Yiroep

    Yiroep Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    First of all, thanks for anyone taking to time to look at my post.

    I'm trying to fix my mother's computer, and have been for a few days now (albeit not with great determination or time investments), and I have an issue that I'm not quite sure what to do. She has a Compaq Mini CQ10-525DX running Windows 7.

    It seems whenever the computer tries to connect wirelessly to any router (I have tried at least 3), it gives the limited connectivity error. So the first thing I tried to do was directly connect it to our router via an ethernet cable. The ethernet port lights up, but it's a no-go on the internet connection.

    So my first thought was to try to reinstall the ethernet drivers. It did not work, so I decided to reinstall all network drivers. That also did not work. My next thought was to do a release-renew on IP, which also did not work.

    I've looked at the device manager, and right now it has 3 network adapters:
    Broadcom 4313 802.11b/g/n
    Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    RealTEK PCIe FE Family Controller

    I'm not quite sure what the next step I should take is, or even if this could be a hardware problem. The laptop is fairly new (about 6ish months she's had it). Thanks in advance to anyone that can help!
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,422
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see a device manager screen shot
    also an ipconfig /all when connected to the router with a cable

    what security suite or firewall do you have on the PC - any timetrail versions of norton, mcafee etc

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    windows key and pause Key should open to allow device manager to be seen on laptops may need to use windows key + FN key + Pause Key
    if not then

    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Yiroep

    Yiroep Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Wow! Quick reply.

    I forgot to mention that I disabled all firewalls on her computer temporarily (including Windows firewall) and disabled all antivirus/malware detection/spyware detection software.

    Here is the information you requested. I checked every single tab of device manager and found no !'s or ?'s. The results of the ipconfig are rather......interesting, though.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Kathy>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Kathy-Laptop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,422
    First Name:
    Wayne
    moving to the network forum

    would you do a tcp/ip reset

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.


    Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Yiroep

    Yiroep Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    It appears the last one failed....

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>NETSH WINSOCK RESET CATALOG

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>NETSH INT IPV4 RESET RESET.LOG
    Reseting Global, OK!
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>NETSH INT IPV6 RESET RESET.LOG
    There's no user specified settings to be reset.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,422
    First Name:
    Wayne
    no thats OK

    whats in ipconfig /all now
     
  7. Yiroep

    Yiroep Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Rebooted anyway, did not solve so far.
     
  8. Yiroep

    Yiroep Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Kathy>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Kathy-Laptop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,422
    First Name:
    Wayne
    lets try uninstalling and re-installing one of the adapters

    choose the realtek adapter - click on it - then right click and uninstall

    now reboot the PC and allow windows to redect the adapter and install the driver and tcp bindings - now see if it appears in ipconfig /all

    if not - try safemode with networking

    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works and an ipconfig /all see the adapters
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    if not
    then try restoring the pc to a date it was working

    start>
    programs>
    accessories>
    system tools>
    system restore >
    choose a date before the problem

    I'm on UK time and will now be going offline, so if noone picks up and continues from the US , i will review tomorrow UK time
     
  10. Yiroep

    Yiroep Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Just went ahead and did system restore like you said. Worked. Thanks so much!
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,422
    First Name:
    Wayne
    your welcome (y) thanks for letting us know
    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner. :)
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1028421

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice