Internet Connection Getting Worse

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Slannman

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2011
Messages
19
To begin with, my desktop PC just couldn't connect to my wireless network that was installed yesterday by the Virgin Media technician in my house. I can connect to it via my laptop but not my desktop which has been the case with other wireless networks so I'm fairly confident it is a problem with my desktop.
But now I cannot even get a connection to check for 'available wireless networks'. The network adapter I'm using is a Realtek RTL8185 54M if that helps at all.

Specs
OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3 Build 2600
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name WINXP-F65DED184
System Manufacturer System manufacturer
System Model System Product Name
System Type X86-based PC
Processor x86 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 7 GenuineIntel ~2331 Mhz
BIOS Version/Date American Megatrends Inc. 0411, 28/10/2008
SMBIOS Version 2.5
Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS
System Directory C:\WINDOWS\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "5.1.2600.5512 (xpsp.080413-2111)"
User Name WINXP-F65DED184\Thomas
Time Zone GMT Daylight Time
Total Physical Memory 2,048.00 MB
Available Physical Memory 1,009.71 MB
Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
Page File Space 3.85 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys

I would be thankful for any help as I am utterly lost and cannot figure out how to fix this and I'm trying to find a way of solving this without having to lose my PC to a repair centre for who knows how long.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2001
Messages
6,523
May we see:
Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)



In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

And :

Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
• COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
• Computer Browser (computer browser will start when needed)
• DHCP Client
• DNS Client
• Network Connections
• Network Location Awareness
• Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
• Server
• TCP/IP Netbios helper
• Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations)
• WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations)
• Workstation

Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic
If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running. Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
__________________
Also,disable encryption on the router.See if that changes things ?
 

Slannman

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2011
Messages
19
I installed Xirrus onto the desktop and the network page was blank so I haven't included a screenshot. It just hasn't detected and adapters on my computer. I also checked all the services and they were both started and now set to automatic. Here is the config paste.

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Thomas>IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : winxp-f65ded184
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-54-CE-44-9C

C:\Documents and Settings\Thomas>
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2001
Messages
6,523
Well that's a problem.You do not show a wireless adapter.
May we see:
Let’s take a look at the status of the network adapters

Device manager:

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

Please respond to all the following steps.
1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?
4. should be enabled and working properly.
5. If error code,what is it ?

It would be best if you could post a screen shot of Device Manager with the Network adapters and Other devices sections expanded.

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
 

Slannman

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2011
Messages
19
Under Network Adapters there are two items listed.
Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
Realtek RTL8185 54M Wireless LAN Network Adapter

There are no ! or ? displayed by any devices either.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 28, 2001
Messages
6,523
Ok:And is there some kind of wireless indicator light to show that the adapter is active ?
Also,I might just,in device manager,uninstall the adapter and re-boot. See if it might plug and play alive.
 

Slannman

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2011
Messages
19
If there is a light then I don't know where to look for it. On the outside of the computer there aren't any lights indicating anything to do with the adapter. Then when I tried to uninstall the adapter both the uninstallation window and the device manager window went 'not responding' and I had to close them.
 

Slannman

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2011
Messages
19
The error details are as follows.
C:\DOCUME~1\Thomas\LOCALS#1\Temp\WER128f.dir00\mmc.exe.mdmp
C:\DOCUME~1\Thomas\LOCALS#1\Temp\WER128f.dir00\appcompat.txt
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,751
Since the wireless adapter looks OK in Device Manager, does the wireless connection appear in Network Connections? If so, is it enabled?
 

Slannman

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2011
Messages
19
Ok, I did a system restore to a few days ago and Xirrus is now picking up my wireless it's just that I cannot connect.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top