1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet connection icon has red X

Discussion in 'Networking' started by norman1312, Oct 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. norman1312

    norman1312 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    I am running Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit.
    Ever since I installed some Bluetooth software the internet connection icon has displayed a red X and is not reporting on the real name for my router. It only says 'Network 2 Internet access Unidentified network No internet access'.
    I have seen a previous post on this subject in this forum, but I want to clarify EXACTLY what I would need to do to fix the problem.
    According to Device Manager I have two entries under Network Adaptors:
    NVIDEA nForce Networking Controller
    VirtualBox Host-Only Ethernet Adapter
    (I am using VirtualBox to run Windows 8 and Ubuntu).
    If I were to uninstall the NVIDEA driver what would I reinstall? The existing version on my hard disk somewhere? I used Update Driver and it said I had the latest drivers so I assume that's what I have available locally.
    Is this the correct way forward?
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,538
    Install the latest NVIDEA nForce Networking Controller driver from the PC manufacturer's web site. Then show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. norman1312

    norman1312 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    I have now installed the latest Network Controller driver.
    Here is the result of the ipconfig
    ===
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\norman>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : norman-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-25-38-D8-BA
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::4531:31a5:2066:5e96%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 26 October 2011 09:45:34
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 26 October 2011 11:15:34
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234888229
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-EF-25-7C-00-1C-25-38-D8-BA

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
    194.168.8.100
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter VirtualBox Host-Only Network:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VirtualBox Host-Only Ethernet Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 08-00-27-00-80-EA
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::6d0d:e3d2:4045:7bca%23(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.123.202(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 436731943
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-EF-25-7C-00-1C-25-38-D8-BA

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{969222D9-E93C-46DC-AEAA-8664AFE94EF7}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{D8796C20-4765-4C4E-B006-043A168E5A3E}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\norman>
    ===
    There is no sign of any Bluetooth connection. I remember seeing one while I had the software running. Curiously, I had to get the network controller through a web search. I couldn't find it reference directly in Device Manager. Where should it be? I couldn't see anything obvious under System devices.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,538
    I have no idea why the VirtualBox Host-Only Ethernet Adapter was assigned that address instead of the 192.168.56.1 assigned to mine. But that won't affect your internet access, and the IP configuration looks good. Try the following tests--same technique as for the ipconfig /all.

    ping 192.168.0.2

    ping 192.168.0.1

    ping 8.8.8.8

    ping yahoo.com


    If you don't have a brand name computer then get it from the motherboard manufacturer's site. If neither have it, then it is probably included in the chipset drivers.
     
  5. norman1312

    norman1312 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    It said NVIDEA Network Controller - I actually got it from an HP site.
    Here are the pings
    ===
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\norman>ping 192.168.0.2

    Pinging 192.168.0.2 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.2: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.2: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.2: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.2: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.2:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 3ms, Maximum = 6ms, Average = 4ms

    C:\Users\norman>ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 6ms, Maximum = 11ms, Average = 9ms

    C:\Users\norman>ping 8.8.8.8

    Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=53
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=42ms TTL=53
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=53
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=53

    Ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 28ms, Maximum = 51ms, Average = 39ms

    C:\Users\norman>ping yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [67.195.160.76] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=109ms TTL=53
    Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=122ms TTL=53
    Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=107ms TTL=53
    Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=127ms TTL=53

    Ping statistics for 67.195.160.76:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 107ms, Maximum = 127ms, Average = 116ms

    C:\Users\norman>
    ===
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,538
    The pings show that you have internet access and DNS is working. So, what is the current problem?
     
  7. norman1312

    norman1312 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Back to the original question of this post - so why does the icon have a red X against it?
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,538
    Don't know. The last time somebody had one of those (but had internet access) the X went away after a reboot.

    In Network Connections what connections have a red X?
     
  9. norman1312

    norman1312 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    None. See the picture.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,538
    Hmmm, I have no answers but can add another question: why doesn't the VirtualBox Host-Only Network show in Network Connections? (See my attachment.)
     

    Attached Files:

  11. norman1312

    norman1312 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Pass. I'm a software person, not a network one. That's why I'm asking the question(s). It does seem illogical, doesn't it.
    Silly question - what OS are you running? As my networking screens don't seem to have exactly the same names.
    Two more pictures, one from control panel, and the other the Networking tab of Task Manager. Now isn't that interesting???
     

    Attached Files:

  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,538
    I have Windows 7. You must have some add-on for those extra icons (look like cut, delete, etc.) on the right side? Or you found some option that I didn't. :)
     
  13. norman1312

    norman1312 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Oh, that's Classic Shell with the Explorer add-ons. I really have it for what it does to explorer to give the total size of files in a folder that got lost in W7. (see picture).
    I see you have Home Premium. I can't believe there's any significant difference between that and my Ultimate install?
    So I still don't have an answer to my question, Why X?
     

    Attached Files:

  14. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You haven't posted anything to show this mysterious red X. You have a solid, active Internet connection through a wired network adapter. Since you only saw this after installing something related to Bluetooth, I can only guess that what you're seeing is that the Bluetooth radio isn't connected to anything.
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,538
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1023975