1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet connection lost every few minutes for 2-10 seconds

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Rory95, Mar 7, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Rory95

    Rory95 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Hi all,
    I've been having some problems with my internet connection on my ASUS G750JM laptop since I bought it last year, but they have recently developed into something that I can't just put up with.
    The first problems started to occur after I connected my laptop to our new router, an ASUS RT N66U N900 Dual Band Cable Router. After a few minutes of connection, it would stop working and sometimes it would fail to connect to this network at all unless i restarted my laptop. However, when connected to our modem, a Plusnet model, these problems would not occur and connection would be slow but constant. This was a problem i could deal with, since i could still access the internet via the (slower) Plusnet router. Other devices and computers could connect to both routers with no problems.

    Now, i've moved out of my parents house and use a different router, the Air Router 802.11n . This was fine for a few months, but the past 3 months or so more problems have started. Every few minutes, the connection drops and then comes back up a few seconds (from 2-15 seconds) later. This is incredibly frustrating when using skype or when gaming online. Strangely, I've found that these problems are not limited to WiFi, and also occur with a wired connection. All other devises except my laptop remain connected when this happens

    Specs;
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 8075 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, -1984 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 286159 MB, Free - 59575 MB; D: Total - 407624 MB, Free - 407477 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., G750JM
    Antivirus: Kaspersky PURE 3.0, Updated and Enabled

    Additional;
    Wireless Network Adapter:Killer Wireless-N 1202 Network Adapter
    Wired Network Adapter: Qualcomm Atheros AR8171/8175 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.30)


    Not sure if i have several separate issues here or whether they're all related.
    Not much of a computer person, so any help is greatly appreciated!
    Thanks,
    Rory
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see an ipconfig /all
    and a xirrus screen shot please

    have you updated the driver for the wireless adapter ?
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
    Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file to the faulty PC and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    http://go.pardot.com/l/66982/2015-01-26/2361i
    enter you details
    Download this file "DOWNLOAD WI-FI INSPECTOR Vx.xx "
    ( the site now appears to allow webbased emails like gmail, hotmail, outlook and yahoo now )

    There is also a xirrus gadget, But that does not have all the fuctionality "DOWNLOAD GADGET Vx.xx

    Alternative links - Use the links below


    http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Monitor-Download-99109.html

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here
    http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.

    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Rory95

    Rory95 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mr-Rory
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter WiFi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Killer Wireless-N 1202 Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 54-35-30-8A-7E-85
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f898:6df4:3759:9e43%8(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 07 March 2015 18:33:29
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 07 March 2015 21:42:36
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 223622448
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1A-D7-FC-7C-40-16-7E-8A-D6-E4
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.8.8.8
    8.8.4.4
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR8171/8175 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.30)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 40-16-7E-8A-D6-E4
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{C59AD825-FBAB-4ADF-942B-1B995657E2FE}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:838:59d:3f57:fffd(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::838:59d:3f57:fffd%7(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 402653184
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1A-D7-FC-7C-40-16-7E-8A-D6-E4
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    My SSID is KeySurf_0e21af

    And, yes my Network Adapter Driver is up to date.
    Thanks for your reply
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so you are getting an IP address OK
    change the router wireless channel to channel 1

    also the graph shows a lot of change - is that you moving around with the pc ?


    would you post the following tests when the internet is working OK, and then repeat ALL the tests when the internet disconnects.
    Make sure you also indicate on the reply which tests are for what condition.

    ipconfig /all again

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ): ​

    In the command prompt window that opens

    Type the following command
    Ping 192.168.0.1
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 98.139.183.24
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste



    if you see on the results a
    "general Failure"
    This sometimes means a firewall issue
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Rory95

    Rory95 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    I have tried to change the router channel before and I got an error message (see attached incase it might be useful). Also, I found that because I live in student accommodation, the routers are provided by them and the password had been changed. Would it be worth contacting them to let me access the routers channel?

    I may have moved my pc, but only very slightly

    My current situation is that my connection is dropped for only 2-10 seconds at a time every 5-15 minutes so doing a ping test for when my internet is down in not feasible. But here are the tests for when it is fine:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.3.9600]
    (c) 2013 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\rory>Ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 1ms

    C:\Users\rory>Ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [216.58.210.46] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 216.58.210.46: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=58
    Reply from 216.58.210.46: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=58
    Reply from 216.58.210.46: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=58
    Reply from 216.58.210.46: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=58

    Ping statistics for 216.58.210.46:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 17ms, Maximum = 33ms, Average = 24ms


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.3.9600]
    (c) 2013 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\rory>Ping 98.139.183.24

    Pinging 98.139.183.24 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=263ms TTL=50
    Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=276ms TTL=50
    Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=272ms TTL=50
    Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=262ms TTL=50

    Ping statistics for 98.139.183.24:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 262ms, Maximum = 276ms, Average = 268ms

    C:\Users\rory>
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Rory95

    Rory95 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Actually, i have managed to get the three ping tests from when my internet goes down:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.3.9600]
    (c) 2013 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.


    C:\Users\rory>Ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 1ms

    C:\Users\rory>Ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [216.58.210.46] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 216.58.210.46: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=58
    Reply from 216.58.210.46: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=58
    Reply from 216.58.210.46: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=58
    Reply from 216.58.210.46: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=58

    Ping statistics for 216.58.210.46:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 15ms, Maximum = 44ms, Average = 26ms

    C:\Users\rory>Ping 98.139.183.24

    Pinging 98.139.183.24 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=268ms TTL=50
    Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=266ms TTL=50

    Ping statistics for 98.139.183.24:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 2, Lost = 2 (50% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 266ms, Maximum = 268ms, Average = 267ms

    C:\Users\rory>
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
  8. Rory95

    Rory95 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Ok, i set that up and left it for a while. It reported every thing as 'OK', even when the internet dropped for a few seconds. It still says there have been 0 disconections
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    thats strange
    the ping should have failed
     
  10. Rory95

    Rory95 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Left it up for a couple of hours now, and it still reports no disconnections. However, during this time, i have lost connection to a skype call twice, and a multiplayer minecraft server several times
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    It appears the tool is not a lot of good then
    you did setup to ping the name and also the IP address and at what frequency

    try a tcp/ip reset
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista - Windows 7 - Windows 8 and Windows 10

    For Windows Vista through to Windows 10
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):​

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
    • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
    • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):
    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied
    This often occurs with windows 8

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
    also the link has a Microsoft Fix it , which will do the above for you

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. Rory95

    Rory95 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    This is the result of those commands:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.3.9600]
    (c) 2013 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Resetting Interface, OK!
    Resetting Neighbor, OK!
    Resetting Path, OK!
    Resetting , failed.
    Access is denied.

    Resetting , OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Resetting Interface, OK!
    Resetting Neighbor, OK!
    Resetting Path, OK!
    Resetting , failed.
    Access is denied.

    Resetting , OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>C:
     
  13. Rory95

    Rory95 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Doesn't appear to have solved the problem though.
    I have also noticed that it appears to get worse the longer i use my laptop.
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you connect to the router using a cable and see how that works
     
  15. Rory95

    Rory95 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Afriad I dont have a cable to do that at the moment. Whenever i disconect from minecraft, i get this error:
    Internal Exception: java.io.IOException: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1144374

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice