Internet Connection monitoring software - connection keeps dropping

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

boxergal

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
91
Is there software that you can recommend that will help me monitor and record how often my internet connection drops? We have a wireless set-up with two computers, a Linksys router and Linksys wireless adapter. Our internet connection is constantly dropping off for several minutes and then starting up again. It's driving us crazy. I'm pretty sure it's the modem, the 2 light from the left on the cable modem goes out when the connection is down. I'm open to any other testing or ???? you can recommend
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,442
sounds like the modem or ISP if the light goes out - however, post back model of router so we can see what the light is - whats it labled onthe router
you could try some ping tests & IPCONFIG /ALL when its good and when its bad to check out
Is it just wireless or also when connected as a cable ??

so run the tests below when its working and post results - then when it drops post again - this will test if you are losing the IP and if ping works with names and numbers - if it works with numbers but not names then its a DNS issue and may just need the DNS server address put into the router

it could be wireless intereference and or portable phones

list is a good bit of softaware to monitor the wireless signal
Free software to check signal strength of wireless is netstumbler 0.4.0 available for download from http://www.stumbler.net/

now for ipconfig and ping

TWO Methods to do that - some people have problems with ONE----

ONE ---------------------------------
start
run
cmd
ipconfig /all

rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

TWO -----------------------------------------------

Start, Run, CMD to open a DOS window and type:

IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.


NEXT lets see if you can get out onto the internet with both names and IP's - its possible the IP number you get back on the first test is different to the one I post {I'm in UK} so use the number you get instead of mine

------------------------------------------------
try ping the name and then the IP see below

start
run
cmd

C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping {the default gateway ipaddress you got above }


C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping google.com
Pinging google.com [64.233.187.99] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=120ms TTL=243
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=107ms TTL=243
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=102ms TTL=243
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=101ms TTL=243

Ping statistics for 64.233.187.99:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 101ms, Maximum = 120ms, Average = 107ms

C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping 64.233.187.991
Ping request could not find host 64.233.187.991. Please check the name and try a
gain.
C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping 64.233.187.99
Pinging 64.233.187.99 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=116ms TTL=243
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=243
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=243
Reply from 64.233.187.99: bytes=32 time=111ms TTL=243

Ping statistics for 64.233.187.99:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 111ms, Maximum = 116ms, Average = 113ms

C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>
 

boxergal

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
91
I have a Toshiba PCX100 Modem from Comcast, and it's the 2nd light from the left that goes out when I lose my connection (it says cable).

Below is what I got when I did the IPconfig /all command. I was able to ping both the default gateway & google.com with no lost packets. I'll try again the next time my connection goes down. We do have cordless phones - how does that affect my cable internet connection?

Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Home
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.ma.comcast.net.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-20-0C-73-68

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ma.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Instant Wireless USB Network Adapter ver.2.6 #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-06-25-19-A4-E3
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.71.226
68.87.73.242
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, July 25, 2006 5:37:16 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, July 26, 2006 5:37:16 PM
 

boxergal

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
91
One more questions, when I run pinglog, do I tell it to ping the default gateway?
 

boxergal

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
91
The pinglog is finding all kinds of timeouts, from 9:23 pm to 9:38 pm, it's already found 5 host unreachable (more than 3 pings in a row time out) and multiple single timeouts. Do I just leave it running and then talk to Comcast about the problem. Can I make the assumption that it is the modem?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,442
been a while now - still a problem or fixed
 

boxergal

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
91
The past two days the connection has been awful! I've been running the pinglog software, and there are timeouts all over the place. If anyone can help, I'd appreciate it.

By the way, an added piece of information, this is a privately purchased modem, purchased several years ago, not one provided by Comcast. Don't know if that makes a difference or not, but thought you should know.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,442
cordless phones can cause problems with wireless connections
sometimes simply changing channels use 1,6 or 11 as they dont overlap can help

is the wireless encrypted

can you do all the ping test before and after its lost and let us know the results
need to know if you can ping IP address but not name address - to see if its a DNS issue
 

boxergal

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
91
Ok, I changed all three of the cordless phones to Channel 11.

Not encrypted

I did the ping tests but can't figure out how to copy & paste the results -
The first time I pinged google.com, it said "could not find host google.com"
The second time I pinged google.com, it lost one packet and took 32 msec
The third time I pinged google.com, it found it right away, 3 msec
The fourth time I pinged google.com, it took 33 msec
The last time I pinged google.com, it took 492 msec

I tried a few other websites besides google - same thing, it took longer to find them.
Each time I pinged my default gateway, it found it right away, no delay
hotmail.com timed out three times
yahoo.com 32 msec
forums.techguy.org 842 msec

The pinglog shows timeouts, and anywhere from 3 msec to 2041 msec.

Let me know if you need add'l information. Thanks for your help!
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,442
I was also after the IP address of google to ping
so you ping the name
and then you ping the number

if name timesouts but number works - its a dns issue
if both time out then connection probably down
 

boxergal

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
91
I could ping both google.com and the IP address it showed for google. During the last 24 hours, the pinglog has recorded 393 host unreachable with average response of 87 ms and 12% packet loss.

Comcast is coming this afternoon to see what the problem is. I was reading online about the fact that modems that aren't docsis 1.1 compliant may not work properly with Comcast - if that's the case, we'll get them to give us a new modem and see if that fixes the problem.

I'll let you know whether the problem continues after Comcast's visit.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,442
yes, i saw a post recently about comcast and modems - sorry but over my head .......

let us know the result please
 

boxergal

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
91
Modem was traded out by Comcast but still having connection problems (although not as many). We're trading out the router and USB wireless adapter today to see if that fixes the trouble. I'll post our results.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top