1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet connection problems..... :(

Discussion in 'Networking' started by DanielM13, Sep 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DanielM13

    DanielM13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    So about 3 days ago I have been having MAJOR issues with my networking connection.

    Before I talk about the problem. I just wanna tell you how my internet is set up.

    1. I have a SMCD3GN Rogers router with wifi that is connected to a Grandstream telephone modem. So we get our phone through the internet... something like that. And it's been working fine for like 2 years now. But 3 days ago... the connection has been disconnecting. First it told me that the connection was still connected (cause skype was working fine) But the browser couldn't connect. It even said Resolving proxy at the bottom of the screen. Its at the point that when i connect my router to the telephone line it shows up in the networking window. However it says "No Internet Access" The only time I get internet (Local service interenet but no WIFI) is if I just connect the Blue Etnernet straight from the modem to the back of my computer. When I try to use the browser it tells me "This webpage is not available" But Skype is still working.... It just makes no sense. 3 days ago I did try messing around to change my IP.. So I think that could have something to do with the fact that its not letting the connection get through. Its so fustrating because now we have no internet and phone connection. It's like I can either choose Wifi... or Local internet connection and no phone service...

    Is there a way to just reset the network from the beginning?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MacyMoo

    MacyMoo

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    try and solve your internet first. have you tried a different browser?
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    Is this the only PC that disconnects - do other devices connected work OK - if so how are they connected to the router - wireless or wired


    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG etc

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. DanielM13

    DanielM13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Here is the IPCONFIG /ALL


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Daniel-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hshld.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Anchorfree HSS Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-21-5B-B5-16
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 802.11n Wireless LAN Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 68-A3-C4-DE-F6-5A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::991c:c3a4:b5a9:dffe%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.13(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, September 21, 2012 9:21:40 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, September 28, 2012 9:21:44 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 308847556
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-EB-35-D0-2C-27-D7-32-C9-7E
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 2C-27-D7-32-C9-7E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d90d:5814:ded8:6aca%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.11(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, September 21, 2012 9:21:40 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, September 28, 2012 9:21:40 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 237774807
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-EB-35-D0-2C-27-D7-32-C9-7E
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.8.8.8
    8.8.4.4
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.hshld.com:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.phub.net.cable.rogers.com:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:6ab8:3c2f:795:3f57:fff4(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3c2f:795:3f57:fff4%14(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    I do have internet. If I plug just the internet cable to the back of the computer this is what I get:
    [​IMG]

    The issue is that it keeps disconnecting me.. like it will work for an hour and then disconnect. It drives me insane. Its like I'm browsing the web and then all of a sudden its slow and I get a "Can't display this webpage" error. Error 105 (net::ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED): Unable to resolve the server's DNS address

    Regardless of what browser I use. I even re-installed my whole Windows 7 with a recovery disk. And it did nothing with the network.

    Also I dunno if the fact that theirs no IPV6 connectivity internet connection has anything to do with it?

    [​IMG]

    Also: On my modem the WPS light is not on... It use to always be on.. I find that strange


    Thank you for replying!!
     
  5. DanielM13

    DanielM13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Replied. :)
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    are you using wireless or cable connection as you seem to have a connection showing for both?

    the cable is using google open dns - 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    but the wireless is set to automatic -

    not sure if that should be on or not - but its only used to connect the device the first time and setup a secure connection
    so it maybe its now off - not sure

    as you have wireless lets see an xirrrus screen shot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/ or
    if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
    http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. DanielM13

    DanielM13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    12
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    the wireless looks ok

    if you connect by cable does the internet work
     
  9. DanielM13

    DanielM13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    If its only by cable then the computer only uses wifi.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    dont understand

    your ipconfig /all shows a connection by cable and also with wireless

    so does it work with cable connection only
    or does it work with wireless only
     
  11. DanielM13

    DanielM13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    It only works when the regular internet cable is plugged from the modem directly to the computer. And then the white cable has to also be plugged in. The moment I try to plug it into the phone box everything disconnects. I don't even know what the problem is myself. I just wish this random disconnecting would stop. Is there a way to re install all network connections and ip/dns addresses so I can get my previous default settings just in case I might have messed something up?
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    dont know what your original settings where
    you could try a restore and see if that helps

    i'm not sure what you are doing - as you need to be very specific with the connects used
    I dont what the white cable is plugged in means - as you are not saying what you plug it into, the router , the modem , what port used on the router ot modem or telephone plug

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Restore PC to an Earlier Date & Time

    Go Start>>All Programs>>Accessories>>System Tools>>System Restore

    • Click in the radio button Choose a different restore point
    • Click Next
    • put a tick in Show more restore points
    • Pick a Date before this happened
    • Click Next
    This should restore the PC to that time & date


    windows 7
    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/700-system-restore.html

    windows vista
    http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/76905-system-restore-how.html

    Windows XP
    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows/using-system-restore-in-xp/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1069573