1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet connection problems

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by fantasticfail, Jan 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fantasticfail

    fantasticfail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    I know this has posted her a couple of times, but I can't seem to fix it, so please bare with me.

    The other day my computer randomly shut down. When I rebooted it, it wouldn't connect to hte internet. It gave me a TCP/IP error. I went through the forums and tried to rest my Winstock and IP, but that didn't help. Eventually, I did a system restore and that fixed it. However, when I shut down my computer last night and started it up this morning, the same thing happened. Well, now, when I try to repair the connection, instead of giving me a TCP/IP error, it says "Windows could not finish reppairing the problem because the following actions cannot be complete: connecting to the wireless network."

    When I type IPCONFIG into the CMD prompt it gives me Error message 002.

    I've done hours of research and I don't know what to do, please help.

    I have a HP 5750 with AMD Semporn(tm) Processor. I run Windows XP Pro SP3 Version 2002. I'm using a D Link DWA-230 Wireless N USB Adaptor

    Also, I'm not sure if these are related, but when I try to access my firewall, it won't allow me to. It says it cannot start the Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing. Also, when I look at the connection Status and I go to Support, everything is blank.

    Please help
    Thanks
    Robby
     
  2. JennyJackson01

    JennyJackson01 Account Closed

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Hiya Robby.

    A couple of things you could try and not necessarily in any particular order ...

    1. Unplug and uninstall the USB adaptor. Now reinstall the software and plug the adaptor into a different USB port.

    2. Make sure you`re using the correct TCP/IP repair, XP is as follows: in the command line type ...
    netsh int ip reset reset.log - & press enter
    netsh winsock reset catalog - & press enter.
    Now reboot the machine.

    3. Reset the router to factory defaults and then put your user name and password in for a fresh start.

    4. In Services, make sure that the following services are running to enable Windows Firewall to run ... Network Connections / Remote Procedure Call / Windows Management Instrumentation and also check that Firewall is set to automatic and is started.

    5. Run scans of your anti-virus, spyware and malware to make sure your system is clean.

    Jenny
     
  3. fantasticfail

    fantasticfail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Hi Jenny,

    Thanks for your response.

    I tried the first option, but nothing changed. As for your second seggestion, when I type in netsh winsock reset catalog, it tells me the catalog has been reset and I need to reboot, however when I type in netsh int ip reset reset.log, nothing happens.

    Your third option doesn't seem to help much. I should mention that I am on my laptop, which is also connected to hte same router, and it seems to be running fine.

    In Services, all of the services you mentioned are listed as starting, however, the firewall is blank. When I try to start it, it says, "Could not start Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) service on local computor

    Error 2: The system cannot find the file specified."

    And as for my antivirus scanner... Earlier, when I tried to get my wireless to work the first time, I read somewhere that I should unistall it. So I did, but when I reinstalled it, it wouldn't work because I need to activate it over the internet.
     
  4. JennyJackson01

    JennyJackson01 Account Closed

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Hiya Robby.

    Maybe I`m just naive but I`ve never heard of having to activate an antivirus especially with so many freebies out there which you could download using the other machine. (I recommend AVG but there are loads out there)

    Are you or have you been using Norton AV by any chance as I`ve known that to block access to firewall settings.

    Jenny
     
  5. fantasticfail

    fantasticfail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Hey Jenny,

    I downloaded AVG and it needed me to access the internet before I could use it, unfortunately.

    Yes, I was using Norton AV, which is why I uninstalled it/
     
  6. JennyJackson01

    JennyJackson01 Account Closed

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Hiya Robby.

    Aha, okay then. Using the other machine obviously, download the Norton removal tool (link 1) to clear any remnants of the installation as you can`t always clear the program using the normal uninstall option.

    I realize what you mean about `activation` now. You`re downloading a small stub file to start the larger one but go to my link 2 and you can get the full file although it`s a good size so may take a few minutes to download.

    Once you`ve run the Norton removal, rebooted and installed the AVG, run a full scan straight away even though you can`t update it at the moment.

    Link 1. http://us.norton.com/support/kb/web_view.jsp?wv_type=public_web&docurl=20080710133834EN


    Link 2. http://www.filehippo.com/download_avg_antivirus_32/ (top right hand corner)

    Jenny

    ps: I`m off to bed soon so good luck and perhaps someone else will pick up this thread if you need more help.
     
  7. fantasticfail

    fantasticfail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks again, Jenny.

    So ran the AV scanner and it came up empty. I also did a little research and apparently I lack one or more files for my Firewall. Would that have anything to do with my ability to connect to the internet?
     
  8. JennyJackson01

    JennyJackson01 Account Closed

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Hiya Robby.

    At least you`ve found out some detail to work on now. Put the XP installation disk in the drive and check that the system files are still complete, in the right place and in good order by typing

    scf /scannow

    into the Run command.

    Jenny
     
  9. fantasticfail

    fantasticfail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Hey Jenny

    Unfortunately, I don't have the instillation disk for this computer, so I can't do it.

    I poked around some more last night, and I noticed that in my drivers, in the hidden section, I had yellow exclamation points over the IP Address Translator and the TCP/IP somethingorother. I can't figure out if they're corrupt or if they're simply missing.

    I also noticed I can't do a system restore. I tried it in Safe Mode, etc, etc but nothing works.

    Robby
     
  10. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,572

    check the cmd in post 2.
    This is what it should be


    Use a manual method to reset TCP/IP

    Note This section is intended for advanced computer users. If you are not comfortable with advanced troubleshooting, ask someone for help or contact Support. For information about how to contact Support, see the Microsoft Help and Support contact information Web site: http://support.microsoft.com/contactus (http://support.microsoft.com/contactus)
    The reset command is available in the IP context of the NetShell utility. Follow these steps to use the reset command to reset TCP/IP manually:
    1. To open a command prompt, click Start and then click Run. Copy and paste (or type) the following command in the Open box and then press ENTER:cmd
    2. At the command prompt, copy and paste (or type) the following command and then press ENTER:netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt
      Note If you do not want to specify a directory path for the log file, use the following command:netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt
    3. Reboot the computer.
    See this article
    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=299357
     
  11. fantasticfail

    fantasticfail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    I tried the manual TCP/IP reset but it doesn't seem to have any effect. I pasted the command just as you wrote it, however, when I pressed enter, it went to the next line, paused for a moment and skipped to the next line, bringing up the original command line, as if I hadn't entered any commands.
     
  12. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,572
  13. fantasticfail

    fantasticfail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    I already tried to use that. Nothing seemed to happen.
     
  14. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,572
    When you try to go system restore, are restore points listed.
    Can you actually get to system restore from start programs accessories system tools system restore.
     
  15. fantasticfail

    fantasticfail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    I set my computer to automatically set system points to restore from. Like, my system automatically makes a checkpoint each day which I can then restore from.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/973496

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice