1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet connection puzzle with Vista

Discussion in 'Networking' started by richardnut, Jan 21, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. richardnut

    richardnut Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    I have a HP Pavilion laptop dv6000 running Windows Vista SP2. When I hover over the 'network' icon it indicates that the computer is not connected to any network and in fact the widgets on the screen that use the Internet indicate 'Service not available'. However when I go to the 'Network and Sharing Centre' and click on 'Connect to a network' it indicates I'm connected to the wireless router with 'excellent' signal strength.


    Further, when I run network diagnostics it returns with '... did not find any problems with your Internet connection.'
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,611
    First Name:
    Terry
    What firewall or security suite is, or ever was, on the system?

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    [Press ENTER after each command.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. richardnut

    richardnut Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Dick>ipconfig/all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Dick-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : telus
    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-37-77-54-23
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : telus
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-E0-36-5B-51
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3189:81fb:be3f:4278%8(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.75(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : January-21-15 12:26:40 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : January-22-15 12:26:39 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    75.153.176.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8101E Family PCI-E Fast Ethern
    et NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-24-F3-0F-31
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection*:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : telus
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.telus
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 8:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 21:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 22:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #5
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{5A0BE126-A434-403D-8021-0073D9BA2
    FEA}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 23:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{2D493C64-4614-4C19-B9C2-2915AB0B6
    8BE}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Users\Dick>
     
  4. richardnut

    richardnut Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Oh yes, used McAfee at one time, not anymore
     
  5. CoolBurn

    CoolBurn

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,768
    So are you able to access the internet from a browser and are just getting conflictiing information from the widget/sidebar and icon about the connection?
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,611
    First Name:
    Terry
  7. richardnut

    richardnut Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    That's right ... and I find that troublesome.
     
  8. richardnut

    richardnut Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Done, McAfee's gone
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,611
    First Name:
    Terry
    Once in a while I have a similar issue with Windows 7. Never found a cause or a fix, but the issue always goes away after a Restart or two. Can't think of anything else to suggest.
     
  10. richardnut

    richardnut Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Pity, I guess I'll just have to live with it for now. Thanks anyway.
     
  11. CoolBurn

    CoolBurn

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,768
    Click on the link below to test the NCSI.
    http://www.msftncsi.com/ncsi.txt
    NCSI = Network Connectivity Status indicator.
    Note the only thing to appear from this site is the text “Microsoft NCSI”

    Next is to go into network connection and disable all connections except for the wireless, reboot the computer and see if the indicator works. Also in the network connection screen note if you see any connection setup as a bridge.

    Besides the above the only other conflict I could think of is if you have a 3rd party wireless management system installed. This could be HP Wireless Assistant or Intel ProSet Wireless manager. If you have either one installed you could try uninstalling them and let Windows manager handle the connection information.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1141631

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice