1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet connectivity IPv4 Internet - Ipv6 - Local

Discussion in 'Networking' started by charlieeeyore, May 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. charlieeeyore

    charlieeeyore Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    My laptop is not connecting to the internet, I know that it is not a router problem as my mine PC and Notebook are connecting with no issues.

    I have removed all router devices as had an new once once it was last working.

    I tried this morning to set it up again without success. I have compared to setting with my pc and have found the difference is with the IPV6 connectivity.

    Pc
    IPv4 - Internet
    IPv6 - no internet access

    Laptop
    IPv4 - Internet
    IPv6 - Local

    I am sure that this is what coursing the problem, but have no idea how to solve it. I am running Vista on the laptop

    Any help would be appreciated

    Charlotte
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Welcome to TSG:
    The laptop did have an internet connection at one time ?
    May we see,from the laptop :
    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)



    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  4. charlieeeyore

    charlieeeyore Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    yes I did have internet on it when I first had it,

    results

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Charlotte>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . :
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 1:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8187 Wireless 802.11g 54Mbps U
    SB 2.0 Network Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-C0-A8-E9-47-00
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8d24:e44e:c3c9:d863%14(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.6(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 21 May 2011 20:05:50
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 22 May 2011 20:05:50
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8038 PCI-E Fast Ethernet
    Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-E0-B8-C6-AF-4E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{AE981036-D16D-460E-9472-99448F1CB
    B37}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{D27ECAF8-505D-4297-A722-A02E33C9C
    6C1}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Charlotte>
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    71,631
    Is the problem that you are not getting an ethernet connection?

    You have an apparently good wireless connection to the router. If you are having some problem with the wireless please show the results for these tests (in a command prompt window):

    ping 192.168.0.6 (or whatever your current IPv4 address is)

    ping 192.168.0.1

    ping 8.8.8.8

    ping yahoo.com
     
  6. charlieeeyore

    charlieeeyore Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    I am getting good wireless connection as the site map is showing that it is connected to the internet, but can not view any pages,
     
  7. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    May we see the pings that Terry requested ?
    And xirrus output:
    Wifi test exe. Hint from Johnwill

    Download and run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspecto from
    www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    on the problem machine. Post a screen shot of the main screen here.



    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button
    to upload it here.

    Note that this application requires NET Framework to run. If you get an error about a missing function, download and install NET Framework.

    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_...g_a_Screenshot
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    71,631
    Non-Windows firewall or security suite blocking your browser(s)?

    These repairs could help ...

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/998073