1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet Connectivity Problems - Windows 7 - Diagnostics Policy Service not running?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jbert281, Dec 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jbert281

    jbert281 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    I've been struggling with fixing this for a few days ... all advice appreciated.

    HP TouchSmart tm2 Laptop running Windows 7. This is my daughters laptop, so thought maybe some malware got on system - ran Malwarebytes with no problems found.

    I have tried manually turning on some Services, I have removed and reinstalled WLAN connections, tried to connect through Windows Safe with Networking.

    I have tried to rewind to earlier config with no luck.
    When I try to revisit my Windows Firewall Settings, (Update your firewall settings), use recommended settings, I get an error Windows Firewall can't change some of your settings, Error Code 0x8007042c.

    I suspect that there is some kind of problem with Windows Firewall ... corrupt code?

    I also removed an old version of Norton that was on here ... thinking maybe Norton had a firewall issue. No luck.

    Warranty just expired with HP, some I am not looking forward to paying them $59 to tell me to reinstall Windows ... also, would need to find the re-install disk (can't seem to find it).

    When I try the basic troubleshooting, error comes up The Diagnostics Policy Service is not running.

    Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.


    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU U 380 @ 1.33GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 5
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 3893 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, 1722 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 451358 MB, Free - 394681 MB; D: Total - 25276 MB, Free - 3696 MB;
    Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 1488
    Antivirus: None
     
  2. Deejay100six

    Deejay100six

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    501
    Hi, [​IMG]and welcome to TSG.

    Connecting to the Internet without antivirus protection is a "Welcome" doormat for malware. Even if you don't actually contract an infection yourself, you are allowing your machine to become a conduit for all kinds of malware to ply their wares and pass it on to all of your friends.

    You are almost certainly infected.

    Please click the link below and follow the instructions.

    http://forums.techguy.org/virus-other-malware-removal/943214-everyone-must-read-before-posting.html

    If you have trouble with one of the steps, simply move on to the next one, and make note of it in your reply.

    Please note that the Malware removal Help forum is usually very busy, and it may take a while to receive a reply.
     
  3. jbert281

    jbert281 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Deejay ... I was not completely naked until now ... as per my note, had Norton installed but removed thinking that the firewall was potentially conflicting with Microsoft's Windows 7 firewall. I'll check your recommended steps just to be sure, and report back to your post. Thanks again.
     
  4. Deejay100six

    Deejay100six

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    501
    Hi,

    I don't have much faith in Norton personally but thats not because it doesn't do a good job protection wise.

    Please take note that your logs should not be posted back here but rather in the Virus removal section.

    If your issue persists after you have been declared clean then, by all means, post back here.

    Good luck. :)
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,883
    First Name:
    Terry
    Using Symantec's Norton Removal Tool?
     
  6. jbert281

    jbert281 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    "Using Symantec's Norton Removal Tool?"

    No ... just went through the uninstall process in Windows.
     
  7. Deejay100six

    Deejay100six

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    501
    Hi,

    Not that simple I'm afraid. Most of the top Antivirus programs have a dedicated removal tool and if you don't use it the program can leave behind lots of remnants in your registry which can and do cause problems. Norton, in particular, in my experience, is reknowned for this.

    Kudos to Terry for pointing that out, I'd forgotten about it. :)
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1031785

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice