1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet connects but no websites

Discussion in 'Networking' started by cardinalfanatic, Apr 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cardinalfanatic

    cardinalfanatic Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Hi all,
    I have a Dell Inspiron 7500 Laptop that I just started using again a few weeks ago. I am running XP Home Edition with SP2 and I have an SMC EZ Connect G Wireless Cardbus Adapter. I have a Linksys WRT54G Router and a Motorola MSTATEA Modem. I have tried countless times to reset the modem and router, and disconnect then reconnect, but nothing has worked. Here is a command prompt I ran earlier tonight:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Aaron>PING 216.109.112.135

    Pinging 216.109.112.135 with 32 bytes of data:

    PING: transmit failed, error code 65.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 65.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 65.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 65.

    Ping statistics for 216.109.112.135:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Documents and Settings\Aaron>PING yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [66.94.234.13] with 32 bytes of data:

    PING: transmit failed, error code 65.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 65.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 65.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 65.

    Ping statistics for 66.94.234.13:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Documents and Settings\Aaron>nbtstat -n

    Wireless Network Connection 3:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.2.101] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    H2N7H1 <00> UNIQUE Registered
    MSHOME <00> GROUP Registered
    H2N7H1 <20> UNIQUE Registered
    MSHOME <1E> GROUP Registered
    MSHOME <1D> UNIQUE Registered
    ..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

    C:\Documents and Settings\Aaron>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : h2n7h1
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : GW1

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : GW1
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : SMC2835W 2.4GHz 54 Mbps Wireless Car
    dbus Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-04-E2-63-49-C2
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.101
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, April 18, 2008 5:51:57 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, April 19, 2008 5:51:57 PM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Aaron>

    I have tried letting Windows take over the connection and letting the wireless card take it over and have used "netsh winsock reset catalog" and "netsh int ip reset reset.log". AT&T is my ISP and the connection from the router is not encrypted. Obviously I cannot ping. Sorry for the long post but I have been unsuccessful on other forums with all that.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Got any Internet Security Software on that PC?
     
  3. cardinalfanatic

    cardinalfanatic Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    yes but it is disabled. it is like norton 04 or something like that... it is an old computer
     
  4. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Even with it disabled, I have seen Norton run havoc on computers. Even uninstalling Norton doesn't always do the trick. Norton has a special uninstaller you can download from their website to make sure it is completely removed.
     
  5. cardinalfanatic

    cardinalfanatic Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    i was mistaken - it is just windows security or whatever. i was thinking of my other computer
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,614
    First Name:
    Terry
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/705059

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice