1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet Cut Out

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mmk2012, Aug 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mmk2012

    mmk2012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    We have an internet connection that cuts out every so often. We have multiple laptops connected to a router. The router is new and did not appear to have problems until one laptop user connected. What can cause an internet connect like this?

    The router's lights show an internet connection even when the internet does not work. Is there a solution to this problem?

    Thanks! I'll post any information that may be needed to solve this issue.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,945
    do they all disconnect ?
    How does this disconnect occur whenever the laptop connects ?

    would you post the following tests when the internet is working OK, and then repeat ALL the tests when the internet disconnects.
    Make sure you also indicate on the reply which tests are for what condition.

    if you are connected by wireless, please include the xirrus screen shots for both conditions - see how below.

    Please post back here the make and exact model of the router and if you have a separate modem, the make and exact model of the modem.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    Type the following command
    Ping {then a space and then add the number that is shown against the item labeled "default gateway" shown in the results from the ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to haveNET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/ or
    if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
    http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. mmk2012

    mmk2012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    I will go ahead and run those tests for you. It might take a few days since the internet cuts out randomly. I'll elaborate more on what is going on.

    Before I began connecting my laptop to the internet, from what I've been told, the internet connection had no problems cutting out. When this occurs, all computers will lose connection to the internet and the router is not visible to the computer. I'll have to double check, but I believe all the lights on the router remain the same, both with and without a connection. All computers can connect to the internet; we have no problems with that.

    I am using a Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Acer 5745 laptop. There is one Mac user in the apartment. The others are either Windows XP or 7 Home Premium. I'll post the test results with a connection later tonight after I get off work.

    Can firewalls affect internet connection in any way? Just curious.
     
  4. JVeitch

    JVeitch

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    By their very nature, yes.

    It would be good to know if your router is losing sync with your ISP or the router is dropping your computers from the system.

    Was it the XP machine that started causing the problems by any chance?
     
  5. mmk2012

    mmk2012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    It was my machine, the Acer Ultimate x64. We aren't certain that the problem existed before or not.
     
  6. mmk2012

    mmk2012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    This is with an internet connection. It may take a while to get the disconnected tests.

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : XXXXXXXX-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.in.comcast.net.

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8151 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet

    Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C8-0A-A9-95-9B-5E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.in.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5B93 Wireless Network

    Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 78-E4-00-5C-2A-4D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c0d6:d425:974d:58c1%11

    (Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.102(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, August 13, 2012 7:16:52 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, August 21, 2012 8:18:58 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 197400574
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-E0-96-FC-C8-0A-A9-95-

    9B-5E
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.in.comcast.net.:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.in.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:953c:2424:8ce:3f57:ff99

    (Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2424:8ce:3f57:ff99%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Ping Test

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 1ms

    Ping google.com

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 1ms

    Ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=48
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=54ms TTL=48
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=48
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=48

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 40ms, Maximum = 54ms, Average = 44ms
     

    Attached Files:

  7. mmk2012

    mmk2012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    and here is the test without a connection:


    ipconif /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MarkKang-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8151 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet

    Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C8-0A-A9-95-9B-5E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.in.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5B93 Wireless Network

    Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 78-E4-00-5C-2A-4D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.in.comcast.net.:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{EFFD396A-2DD3-4895-83C8-D64721CB4D18}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ping google.com failure

    Ping 209.183.226.1525


    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.102: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.0.102: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.0.102: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.0.102: Destination host unreachable.

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
     

    Attached Files:

  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,945
    you appear to have lost the connection to the router ,as you have no IP address
    although the Xirrus screen is showing an IP and connection - is that IP screen shot taken when it disconnected ?

    i would log into the router and change the wireless channel to use channel 1

    i would update the wireless driver
    go here http://us.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/drivers and enter the model
    then choose the atheros wireless driver
    this should be a direct link- although sometimes they do not always work
    http://global-download.acer.com/GDF...tep3=Aspire 5745&OS=721&LC=en&BC=Acer&SC=PA_6

    open the zip file and run setup
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1064982