Internet Cuts Out

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

JumpingLimaBean

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2013
Messages
14
I have a problem with my internet. I am connected to it wirelessly and sometimes it works fine but other times when i am browsing the internet or for example watching a livestream, my internet randomly stops working for about a second then it works again. It doesn't actually disconnect from the internet, it just stops me from accessing the internet for a few seconds.


Do you know how to fix this?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
moved to network forum

can we see an xirrus screen shot - see below
as its so quick - some of my other test may not help - it maybe a DNS issue

it would be worth trying an open DNS - and see if that helps

------------------------------------------------------------------------


Google public DNS
Note using google public DNS servers from outside the US may actually slow performace - so use the following as a test to identify DNS issues - if these resolve the issues , then we need to investigate further to optimise the use of DNS


Google public DNS
http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/

Theres also a link on how to setup those DNS IP address up on a PC
http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using.html

How to set XP here
http://techie-buzz.com/how-to/google-public-dns-on-win7-and-winxp.html

Then once you have set up those DNS entries

Flush & register DNS

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):
In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

Ipconfig/flushdns
ipconfig/registerdns


If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
Then please open the command prompt as administrator
Start> All Programs> Accessories and then right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

now type the command again

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

{If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

Run the program

A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

post a screen shot of the program running.
if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

To post a screen shot of the active window.
Windows XP
Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

Vista or Windows 7
you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

Windows 8
you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
>Press the Esc. key.
>go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
>Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
see here
http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
have you just changed to google dns or was it already set to use ?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
see how that goes and if works - you could use opendns which optimises for where ever you are in world - at least thats the claim

OPENDNS public DNS

OpenDNS’s 12 global data centers are strategically located at the most well-connected intersections of the Internet.
Unlike other providers, OpenDNS’s network uses sophisticated Anycast routing technology, which means no matter where you are in the world, your DNS requests are answered by the datacenter closest to you.

http://www.opendns.com/business-solutions/premium-dns/benefits/

Completely Free - sign up for an account and you will see instructions for setting up on your router or PC
The server address are

208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220
 

JumpingLimaBean

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2013
Messages
14
My internet still cuts out. I think the DNS might have made my ping even worse as well. My ping is sort of high and my internet still cuts out.

Could somebody streaming cause this?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
Could somebody streaming cause this?
yes, it would take up a lot of the bandwidth

try these two dns servers
208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220
 

JumpingLimaBean

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2013
Messages
14
I know sometimes streaming is done, but even when someone is not streaming my internet still cuts out

I think the ping is mostly when streaming is done.

I am on a high bandwidth internet plan though. I think like 120 GB?
 

JumpingLimaBean

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 3, 2013
Messages
14
My windows version is Vista 64 bit.
How would i actually re-install the driver and what would I do on that site?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
i'm trying to find out who made the PC
and what the model of the PC is
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top