1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Internet disconnects

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by JollyJeff, Feb 8, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JollyJeff

    JollyJeff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    First Name:
    Jeff
    I did have another internet disconnect during routine use. Upon restarting, Widows performed an automatic update per my setting allowing it to do so. I checked and installed 9 optional updates. Most of which have nothing to do with my issue, I think but thought they wouldn't hurt either. I continue to be enthused by the support I am receiving. Please accept my gratitude. This PC works fine and is fast except for these internet disconnections.

    upload_2018-2-13_10-49-19.png
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,949
    First Name:
    Terry
    I'm kinda stumped on the disconnections during your normal use. Any chance that the ethernet cable is less than perfect--getting old, has a sharp turn, connector a little loose, etc.?

    The following will not likely solve this, but certainly will not hurt ...

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista through 10.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8 thru 10: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine after all three commands; no need to boot after the 1st and 2nd.
     
  3. JollyJeff

    JollyJeff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    First Name:
    Jeff
  4. JollyJeff

    JollyJeff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    First Name:
    Jeff
  5. JollyJeff

    JollyJeff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    First Name:
    Jeff
    You might have a point about the ethernet cable. I'll replace it right away. Any advice on what kind to buy? I performed the resets and will now restart. I wanted to show you the messages I got when I took the recommended action. I also messed up the spelling in the third instruction but it seemed to work anyway. i thought Command prompts required perfection?
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,949
    First Name:
    Terry
    Cat6. Cat5e would be OK, but Cat6 isn't expensive and is more "future proof."


    You mean rest.log instead of reset.log? Just a (random) file name. :)

    Those error messages seem to be very standard in Windows 8.1.
     
  7. JollyJeff

    JollyJeff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Ok Terry, thank you very much. I have replaced my ethernet cable. Old was 5E and new is Cat 6. The computer responds to the internet after three consecutive shut down/ start ups. It shut down during routine use this morning before I replaced the cable. So it might have helped. We will see. I will monitor and report operation details over next few days. I really appreciate the attention and suggestions. If anything else occurs to you or anyone, let me know. Let's give it a couple days before we close the post.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,949
    First Name:
    Terry
    Good luck. :) I'll be waiting for your next update.
     
  9. JollyJeff

    JollyJeff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    First Name:
    Jeff
    I guess I was overly optimistic. Within an hour of my last report yesterday morning, the internet disconnections came back. one one occasion even the restart did not work the first time. On multiple occasions and every time I tried a shut down and turn on, the browser was not finding the internet. the PC says it's there, the modem says it's there, the WiFi is working fine for my phone and tablet but browsers and other apps on 8.1 that connect to remote servers don't see the internet. Again, this is usually corrected by a system restart. After being used routinely for a while anywhere from 20 minutes to a few hours off and on, the browsers lose the internet and require a restart to regain it. By virtue of some of the changes we have made so far, the restart process and reboot process is a bit faster. So I am encouraged by that. If there are any other suggestions, I am all ears and eager to try them.
     
  10. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    90,530
    First Name:
    Mark
    Do you have other PCs on your network? Can you see any of them, or can they see you, when you cannot access the Internet?
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,949
    First Name:
    Terry
    Show for when you have a good connection and for when you do not have internet access ...

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.
    (In Windows 10 you may have to use some other procedure to get a Command Prompt window.)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    [Press ENTER after the command.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  12. JollyJeff

    JollyJeff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    First Name:
    Jeff
    GR 3iz, I have no other computer on my network. A coiuple iphones and an Android tablet. the tablet doesn't seem to have any network app.
     
  13. JollyJeff

    JollyJeff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Terry,

    I ran IPCONFIG /All both ways. This post will show what I got when the internet was working.
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.3.9600]
    (c) 2013 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Sandy>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : SandysMachine
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1A-D2-24-52-D2-65
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR5BWB222 Wireless Netwo
    rk Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 48-D2-24-52-D2-65
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82579V Gigabit Network Connectio
    n
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 54-BE-F7-04-FC-18
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2607:fcc8:6a03:1500:2c01:62c1:b324:8180(P
    referred)
    Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2607:fcc8:6a03:1500:ad0c:bc6:3448:ce67(Pr
    eferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2c01:62c1:b324:8180%3(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 15, 2018 9:22:38 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 15, 2018 10:22:38 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::9a6b:3dff:fe5f:24b7%3
    192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 260606088
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-AC-EF-A6-54-BE-F7-04-FC-18

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
    209.18.47.62
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{5008C517-0D0C-4026-9708-536DE2F68CA6}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Sandy>
     
  14. JollyJeff

    JollyJeff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    First Name:
    Jeff
    This post will show what I got when the internet was not detected by my browsers. I made no comparisons as I don't know what I am looking at.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.3.9600]
    (c) 2013 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Sandy>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : SandysMachine
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1A-D2-24-52-D2-65
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR5BWB222 Wireless Netwo
    rk Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 48-D2-24-52-D2-65
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82579V Gigabit Network Connectio
    n
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 54-BE-F7-04-FC-18
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2607:fcc8:6a03:1500:2c01:62c1:b324:8180(P
    referred)
    Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2607:fcc8:6a03:1500:65ff:4cf8:d189:b0cd(P
    referred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2c01:62c1:b324:8180%3(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 15, 2018 5:26:34 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 15, 2018 10:17:59 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::9a6b:3dff:fe5f:24b7%3
    192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 260606088
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-AC-EF-A6-54-BE-F7-04-FC-18

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
    209.18.47.62
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{5008C517-0D0C-4026-9708-536DE2F68CA6}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Sandy>
     
  15. JollyJeff

    JollyJeff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    First Name:
    Jeff
    GR 3iz,

    I can't see my phones or my tablet from my PC either.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Internet disconnects
  1. Hubbard
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    119
  2. cndavis1422
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    149
  3. Bootmail
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    120
  4. lilaco
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    176
  5. Jebber
    Replies:
    22
    Views:
    464
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1204567

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice